Skip to content

red white and blues

March 31, 2009

born in the USA

After much consideration (and math), I have decided to make the I Heart You sweater for child sizes only.  I apologize if I told you otherwise, but the design would have needed to be altered so much to be flattering for women. Thank you, Anne, for helping me see the light. I would have been writing two separate patterns.

The sizes will range from age 2 to 16.  Or, since kids vary so much, for a chest circumference of 20″ to 32″.

I’m working on an alternate version with some Lanaloft Sports Weight (sleeves first).  The red white & blue (tempered a bit with some Carolina Blue – Go Heels!) is so very patriotic and I so love it.  Lanaloft and Nature Spun are both awesome sport weight yarns from Brown Sheep.  Have you tried them yet?  I’m in the middle of deep infatuation with them both – even more so because they are made right here in the USA.  Lanaloft is a singles and the Nature Spun is plied.  Both knit up wonderfully.

You’d think I work for Brown Sheep.  But in fact, I do not.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 9:51 am

    i love the red, white, and blue! and you’re right – this sweater is much better suited for children. however, i’m a 32″ bust, so maybe i can make myself a size 16 sweater 😉

  2. wazzuki permalink
    March 31, 2009 10:54 am

    I heart this colourway and the Carolina blue particularly – and am intrigued by its roots as ‘dialectical’ blue. Wow. Continuous sizing is insanity inducing. However, I live in hope that I like Mai might get away with your largest size. I love the idea of going about with my clothing saying “I heart you”!

  3. March 31, 2009 4:00 pm

    It’s going to be another fabulous, and I’m glad Duke blue gets into the colorway, even though outweighed by “that other” blue. I’m a big time Brown Sheep fan too. I luvs me some wool.

  4. March 31, 2009 5:32 pm

    Quite understandable! Funny thing, though, there are women who could wear the 32″ size 🙂 Perhaps an adult version would be more suited to having rows of hearts only on the yoke.

  5. Vanessa permalink
    March 31, 2009 6:01 pm

    Yay! I’m like Mai above – am also a 32″ bust! So I will hopefully be knitting one up as well.

  6. March 31, 2009 6:54 pm

    I really like those colors! Good thinking on making it a kids’ only pattern.

  7. April 4, 2009 11:40 pm

    We love it (and you!) anyway. 🙂 I may make an attempt to mess about with it anyways, and if not, it’ll make a great doggie sweater, as I have no children. 😀

Leave a Reply

