Skip to content

requested sweater

March 1, 2009

Jerry asked for a sweater.  Even though he is the warmest boy in world, braving the coldest days in a t-shirt and shorts if I would let him, I am knitting him a sweater.  Without really thinking the whole thing through, I’m knitting it out of worsted weight Cascade 220, which makes for a Very Warm Sweater.

requested sweater - front

After I snapped this picture, I crocheted the steeks, cut the tiny neck steek in order for the whole thing to lay flat, and blocked it.  Yesterday was rainy, today is rainy/icy/snowy/all around wet, and so I will have to wait (and wait and wait) for it to dry before I get back to it.  Sad.

I do not have high hopes that it will be worn very much.  In that sense, this is  a process sweater; the fun comes in designing and executing.  And what fun it is!

I’m making it big so it may have a chance next winter.  I’m making it will skulls, which increases it’s wearability potential.  I am even duplicate stitching green skull eyes (at the boy’s request), to up the ante even more.

The design is my own. I started with a swatch.

progress

The first design looked good on paper (the large silly bottom skulls) and looked horrible once knitted.  Then I took a break from it for a few weeks and came back with the new, argyle-insprired skulls at the top.  I like it a lot.

I have a feeling Jerry will like it, too. He has a thing for skulls:

DSC08490

Even if he wears it only once, how could I NOT knit this cutie pie a sweater?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2009 1:42 pm

    I can never say no to a knitting request from a son–and one that cute ?Must knit! Love the skulls.

  2. March 1, 2009 2:47 pm

    I’m sure he’ll wear it. Be sure to let the librarian get a look at it. She’ll appropriately ooh & ahhh over it.

  3. carpoolknitter permalink
    March 1, 2009 4:46 pm

    I love argyle-inspired skulls. especially with green eyes :0)

  4. March 1, 2009 6:35 pm

    shiver me timbers that is a lovely one. the boy. and the sweater is just so adorable in an eerie way :-)) just what kids want these days. i am in awe.

  5. March 1, 2009 7:48 pm

    Well if a person could say no to that face then they have no soul. Good luck. If he asked for it, then it has great potential to be accepted…

  6. March 1, 2009 11:29 pm

    you are a good momma! what a lucky boy 🙂 is it going to be a cardigan? and all that duplicate stitching? oy.

  7. March 2, 2009 1:24 am

    He *is* a cutie pie.

  8. March 3, 2009 4:14 pm

    He’s so cute! What a good mommy you are for knitting that cool sweater. Can’t wait to see it finished!

  9. March 4, 2009 6:59 pm

    Oh, my, that is going to be an amazing sweater. And yes, that sweet face deserves an amazing sweater.

  10. mitchell permalink
    March 19, 2009 11:01 pm

    I’m a bit embarresed to say that I’m probably one of the few guys that visits your site (let alone leaves a comment). I simply love your knits, especially your hats. anyway thought I would just comment on this awsome sweater. Can’t wait to see it finished.

Leave a Reply

