Skip to content

dressing warm

October 21, 2008

I’ve spent the last few days wondering how many woolies are too many woolies.  It finally turned cold (by NC standards, anyway, still no frost) and I am trying to make the most of all my knitted items…without looking like a ragamuffin.  Fingerless mitts, scarf, hat, socks.  Sometimes I look like a ragamuffin and just don’t mind.

But my Maggie, she’s no ragamuffin.

Maggie in Woolies

She looked perfectly coordinated yesterday when we went on a “bear hunt” for the cat, who lives outdoors.

Maggie in Woolies

We never did find Cat Minnie but we had a good, warm adventure.  Fortunately, you won’t be subjected to pictures of what I was wearing.  It really has me thinking that perhaps I should plan to knit a coordinating hat/mitten combo.  I could at least try to be coordinated.

Then, as usual,  we ended our adventure on the tire swing.

Maggie in Woolies

Hat: Seaman’s Cap by Brenda Zuk.  Free here.  Cascade 220.  On Ravelry.
Mittens: Handdyed, handspun BFL.  Pattern by me.  On Ravelry.  This pattern is in the works.
Sweater: October Sweater from last year.  Still fits!  Based on EZ’s Fair Isle Yoke Sweater.  Cascade 220.  On Ravelry.

Maggie in Woolies

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2008 10:22 am

    Awww how precious. I love everything about her. 🙂

  2. October 21, 2008 10:49 am

    Oh, that last picture is the tops. And also, too many woolies? There is not such thing.

  3. October 21, 2008 11:41 am

    Your pictures always bring a smile to my face! Thank you!

    I don’t have any coordinating woolies either. :o)

  4. October 21, 2008 11:46 am

    So cute!! You can’ never wear to many handknits as a child!

  5. October 21, 2008 4:24 pm

    I love the last picture best cause she’s grinning. Bet you look pretty cute in your woolies too 🙂 🙂

  6. October 21, 2008 5:45 pm

    She is gorgeous and looks super toasty warm in all those wonderful handknits of yours.

  7. wazzuki permalink
    October 21, 2008 5:59 pm

    Heh. Maggie looks *fantastic* in her lovely woolies, but I do identify with the adult ragamuffin issue . . My bloke refers to this look as ‘woolled up’. It is a look I like.

  8. October 21, 2008 6:17 pm

    my goodness, she is the cutest! and she is getting so big! i love all of her handknits. what a cutie.

  9. crimsonpurl permalink
    October 21, 2008 9:35 pm

    LOL @ ragamuffin :o)
    I was “just” saying in my knit group over the weekend how this is the perfect time of the year where I need all of those items at once!!! Haha!

    Yes Maggie is cutie ragamuffin ;op

    Great knit investment on the sweater still fitting another year!!!

  10. October 22, 2008 2:43 am

    cuuuute.

  11. October 22, 2008 7:45 am

    i have no idea what a ragamuffin is???? but i love when people even adults wear a whole lot of woolies together. personally i am wearing my different poroms and my st. brigid together all the time and i think i look cosy and friendly ;-))
    and of course maggie looks as cute as ever. it is great when children wear a lot of woolies especially. your little one is adorable and i almost feel like i know her..

  12. October 22, 2008 3:37 pm

    She is so, so adorable! I love all her knits, too.

  13. October 23, 2008 1:56 pm

    She’s adorable in her knits! I love these photos!

  14. October 24, 2008 3:15 pm

    What a cutiebug! Love it when everything still fits, a year later (although then I usually feel guilty for that, bc OF COURSE I want my kids to grow! LOL).

  15. October 24, 2008 7:35 pm

    She’s so adorable!

  16. October 26, 2008 4:14 pm

    What a beauty! Gorgeous photos and knits.

Leave a Reply

