Skip to content

1 is One

October 9, 2008

Truly Tasha's Shawl

1 is one shawl, ready to be worn.
verse (if you will indulge my calling it “verse”) inspired by 
1 is One
, by Tasha Tudor (Aug 28, 1915 – June 18, 2008)

Pattern: Truly Tasha’s Shawl by Nancy Bush, free on her website.
Yarn: Special Cotton Blend from Cestari Farms in Green Heather.
My project page: on Ravelry.

I loved knitting this shawl.  The main body is so simple (despite my messing it up) and the edging is just so sweet.  I used this cotton yarn because for years I’ve had it in my stash and couldn’t find the right project for it.  But the yarn fits the pattern perfectly – it’s farmy and rustic, with twigs and such scattered throughout.

Although I’m a snob and would knit with wool exclusively if I could, I am proud to say that this shawl is perfect for the climate I live in.  Wool is not always practicle here, sadly.  But this cotton/wool yarn is multi-season, and I’m certain this will be a useful shawl.

Truly Tasha's Shawl

Here’s something else I wanted to say, just in case I don’t get back to the blog anytime soon.  I was at the yarn store the other day, and would you believe, someone recognized MAGGIE from the blog?!?!  It was strange, but not in a creepy way.  It’s been a while since there has been a Maggie picture, so I guess I should post one.  You know, for her fans.

Clones

Jerry and Maggie.  They are Clones, from the new animated movie and cartoon show The Clone Wars.  I used one of Jerry’s teeny-tiny Lego clones as a guide to draw the face, and the mask is just a paper plate with some elastic at the back.  Easiest craft ever.  We’ve since made a whole clone army, and Jerry has decided that his Halloween costume will be a Clone, like this.  He keeps reminding me that the gun should not be forgotten.  This may be the hardest costume yet.

Maggie, my sweet baby, wants to be a werewolf.  Sigh.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 2:27 pm

    lovely shawl and now your daughter is a knitting celeb. and your blog is something like that too. that is great.

  2. October 9, 2008 3:16 pm

    so glad for a post on your blog. i find myself wondering what wonderful things you are up too when there is such a long time beteewn posts. the shawl is beautiful. Love the clone troopers.

  3. October 9, 2008 3:35 pm

    The shawl is beautiful, should be a very practical item. Your kids are too funny, a werewolf!

  4. carpoolknitter permalink
    October 9, 2008 3:38 pm

    I am definitely in Maggie’s fan club. Even if she’s a werewolf. She’ll be the most adorable wittle werewolf ever!

    You finished Tasha! Beautiful, the edging really makes it.

  5. wazzuki permalink
    October 9, 2008 5:50 pm

    lovely shawl – I really like the colour. Now I’m off to make meself a nifty clone mask. . .

  6. October 10, 2008 3:30 pm

    I love the shawl. Truly. It looks cozy and warm. And it’s so funny when LS gets recognized in yarn stores. When people talk to him and call him “Little Sir” he looks and me is like, “knitters, mommy.” Only knitters call him Little Sir. It’s kind of funny.

  7. October 13, 2008 1:22 pm

    This is beautiful!

    My littlest boy now wants a clone mask too!

  8. October 13, 2008 6:22 pm

    i love it! it’s very simple and beautiful. great color!

  9. chelsie permalink
    October 23, 2008 9:38 pm

    I had previously read this post, but scrolled back through it again today while reading new stuff… at a quick glance, I thought it was a re-posting of Mag’s toe-hole blanket! The colors seem so similar… perhaps that’s why you were attracted to the color! You have snuggly-baby and pokey-toe associations with this green! 🙂

  10. thattham permalink
    December 28, 2008 11:45 pm

    lol

Leave a Reply

