Skip to content

psso

June 28, 2008

I’ve got to give it to Gerald.  He cooks the food, he makes me feel better when I’m down (usually by telling me to get over it, and he’s usually right), and he always tells the funniest jokes.  That is not all.  He puts up with all the wool, and as you might suspect there is quite a lot of it.  And he also takes the children away when he senses that I might benefit from some time to myself.

Right this minute he is off somewhere in town yardsaling with Maggie and Jerry.  *Drive for a few miles, unbuckle the two.  Browse for a minute.  Re-buckle the two.*  Repeat between *s.  If they are still happy after a while of that, he will take them to the grocery store and do the shopping for the week.  They could be back at any moment but for now I will just enjoy the silence (or rather, the music).

What I have needed lately is a chunk of time to figure out some lace, and I think I’ve got it now.

swallowtail shawl

ETA: Swallowtail Shawl from an old Interweave issue, in KnitPicks Shadow that I dyed turquoise (project page).

I put this project down a while ago and when I picked it up and counted the stitches, I was off by one.  Today, with an empty house, I was able to straighten it out.  I missed a yarn over but fixed the problem on a subsequent pattern row (I skipped a decrease).

I knit a few more rows, counted again, and was again off by one.  After careful examination, and some cursing, I discovered that I didn’t psso of the sk2p (sl 1 kwise, k2tog, psso).  Deep breath.

pass stupid damned slipped stitch over

Now sure exactly how to fix it, but I’m hoping when I get to the pin that marks the error the answer will come to me.  Usually does.

I’m thinking now, maybe I should have spent this supposedly rejuvenating “alone time” painting my toe nails or something.  Not wrestling with a motherfrakking pile of lace.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. aimeed permalink
    June 28, 2008 1:09 pm

    When you get there, just do the psso before you work those stitches. Also, next time if you forget a YO again, if you catch it before you work the next row, you can just pick up the bar strand between the 2 stitches where it was supposed to be. Just put it on the needle and work it. I’m so glad for you that you got some quiet time. And garage sale-ing with little ones? No thankyou!

  2. Kathleen permalink
    June 28, 2008 3:10 pm

    Ahh, a BSG fan! Me too. I’m always missing YOs. Next time I’ll try to figure it out, rather than ripping back until I have the right stitch count. Thanks!

  3. June 28, 2008 8:27 pm

    Your husband sounds so great. Perhaps I can send mine over for some training. I could not imagine my partner going to a garage sale, although I have been to some over the years.

  4. June 28, 2008 8:30 pm

    What a great hubby!

    I hope you figure it out. It sure looks pretty.

  5. crimsonpurl permalink
    June 29, 2008 7:44 am

    Definitely a good man and should have gone with the pedicure!

    You will get it all worked out soon! I love that color!

  6. June 29, 2008 12:25 pm

    well i am sure you chose the lace because it is more important than a pedicure. and i am continuously shocked about how much time one can spend knitting.
    it is lovely with a nice husband when you have small children and important for the kids to spend solo time with their dad i am sure. good he makes you laugh too.

  7. June 30, 2008 10:49 am

    Nah. Toenails don’t stay painted for long. Using your brain to work out that problem will do you better in the long run. And besides, you get a much better sense of accomplishment from that!

    Your hubs gets an A+ from me. Mine helps in ways like that, too, but usually my free time comes in the opposite direction–I leave them all at home while I go off for a while. Even a trip to Costco is pleasant and refreshing when I get to go by myself!

  8. July 1, 2008 9:54 am

    I am so impressed that your husband takes the kids out like that! My husband does take ours out, but he usually just takes them to Dunkin’ Donuts… garage sales are much more impressive.

  9. July 1, 2008 4:47 pm

    Nah, you’ll feel better when your lace-wrasslin’ is done! And you won’t have chipped toenail polish in a week. :o)

  10. July 3, 2008 4:31 pm

    You’ve got a keeper! And no, ultimately, you will feel much better about having worked out your lace issues than painting your toenails.

  11. July 9, 2008 6:14 am

    your swallowtail looks beautiful, and I think you’ve got the problem worried!

Leave a Reply

