Skip to content

like, ten thousand of his babies

June 5, 2008

If I like something a lot I say, “I want to have, like, ten thousand of (whatever it is)’s babies.” It’s a line from American Beauty and I must have seen it in college because I know for sure that if I say it in the presence of any of my college friends they’ll nod knowingly. Or they’ll say “I KNOW!” like Monica used to. Anyway.

I want to have, like, ten thousand of this dress’s babies.

little beatrix potter books

The pattern is the Bubble Dress from Oliver + S. I bought it from Repro Depot after seeing it here. With shipping this pattern cost me around $20 and I went on and on to anyone who would listen about how crazy it was that I had spent $20 on a pattern. Usually I only buy patterns when they’re on sale at Joann’s for $1.99 or less.

the scallops

I am officially done whining about the price of the pattern. The dress turned out so totally perfect that I just can’t stop thinking how you really do get what you pay for. Can you see the scallops down the side seam of the dress above? Considered leaving them out (it’s optional) but I couldn’t be happier that I left them in. They don’t stick straight out like the pattern envelope suggests, but when the dress is worn you catch glimpses of them. It’s so intriguing. A mystery that makes you want to take a step closer. I keep saying to myself, “Who would’ve thought?”

maybe my favorite picture OF ALL TIME.

The fabric came from the fancy children’s sewing store in Greensboro, Sew Heavenly (don’t know the name of my fabric, and can’t find it in their online catalog). I really like it there. I wanted a deep navy blue fabric for this dress (to go with the red sweater) but they didn’t have any deep navy blue. They had lots of pastels and I can do without pastels, but they carry high quality fabric and I appreciate that.  So anyway, I got this fabric because it has a wonderful weight to it, some kind of different weave.  I got a super lightweight batiste (whatever that means) for the lining.  Nevermind, now I know exactly what batiste is.

As cute and girly as the dress is, I get a strong sci-fi feeling from it. Check out these shoulder caps for pete’s sake.

she breaks my heart

The dress is futuristic in a way yet still old fashioned. I’m in love with it.

My main gripe with most sewing patterns is that they are messy on the inside; seams exposed, left to slowly fray with every wash. Yea, I’m sure I could tidy things up myself with those patterns (hello, french seams), but when the whole dress is lined right from the get-go it just makes the world a better place, you know? Obvs, this pattern is fully lined. It’s actually perfect on the inside. I am crazy for that.

The dress takes longer for me to sew than my old standby. But since this dress is a little bit fancier than a play dress, I probably won’t sew as many as I will with the other pattern. But I am definitely making another one.

Because I want to have, like, ten (oh, I already said that).

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    June 5, 2008 5:03 pm

    OMG, it is so cute! So, so cute. And I can’t get over Maggie. I agree with you on the lining. Linings make dresses rock.

  2. June 5, 2008 5:22 pm

    Oh my. Someone, please hand me a baby so that I can make her this dress! Too cute!

  3. June 5, 2008 5:26 pm

    OMG, i also want to have ten thousand of that dress’ babies! it is absolutely adorable!

  4. June 5, 2008 7:20 pm

    So cute. You’re making me wish I didn’t have a tom boy.

  5. June 5, 2008 8:03 pm

    Oh it looks adorable, and I love the scalloped edging too. The fabric is very sweet.

  6. June 5, 2008 10:11 pm

    your.
    kids.
    are.
    so.
    dang.
    CUTE!!!

  7. June 5, 2008 11:11 pm

    What a gorgeous pattern. It’s turned out beautifully and I love the details. Well done!

  8. Sarah permalink
    June 6, 2008 1:06 am

    And I, of course, would like to have ten THOUSAND of those dresses.

    (I KNOW!)

  9. Jamieat50 permalink
    June 6, 2008 9:04 am

    The pattern is wonderful, and I know what you mean about wanting [yada, yada -!] of something that just really, really works … if only all children were as cute & adorable as your Maggie –!!!!

  10. June 6, 2008 10:04 am

    love the sleeves and the sneaky scallops. Does it come in adult sizes? (sigh)

  11. June 6, 2008 5:53 pm

    Cute Cute Cute!

  12. June 7, 2008 2:26 pm

    Oh, it’s so perfectly LOVELY. The scallops are delish.

    Also, it bums me out a little that you were only in college when American Beauty came out. I was all growed up by then, done with college and grad school, and a few years into my profession. Oy, I feel old!

  13. June 8, 2008 4:45 am

    that girl!!!!! great dress. i adore it.

  14. June 8, 2008 5:51 pm

    That’s the custest thing I’ve ever seen!

  15. June 9, 2008 12:19 pm

    I would turn it around and say “I’d like to father 10,000 of that (something’s) babies”, but that just sounds horrible…

    Anyway, I think the dress is adorable! 🙂

  16. June 9, 2008 2:20 pm

    So totally adorable!!

  17. June 9, 2008 11:23 pm

    Oh my goodness. I am stunned by cuteness. It’s my new fave…and if I didn’t already have 10,00o babies…I’d go along with you.

  18. June 18, 2008 1:45 am

    adorable, the detail is so cute and well designed. Your daughter looks like an angel in it too!

Leave a Reply

