Skip to content

fruits

April 28, 2008

It’s rainy – very rainy – here today. All the wet is pretty nice actually. Last year was just so dry that it feels like a miracle to have a bit of rain. Luckily, while the weather was nice last week I took a butt load of pictures of my latest sewing projects: Dresses for Maggie.

cherry dress

I seem to have trouble picturing what a fabric will look like once it’s all cut up and sewn back together. I’d say this is one of my weak spots in sewing: Picturing the final product. I like the cherries, I really do, but it’s a little too too. You know? The ruffle really puts it over the top.

cherry dress

If anyone can pull it off, though, it’s The Mag.

cherry dress

Hello, baby.

The Cherry Dress is from McCall’s Easy Stitch ‘n Save M5020 although I can’t seem to find it online (even in their OOP section). It’s very similar to McCall’s Easy Stitch ‘n Save M5606.

Then there’s the Lemon Dress.

Lemonade Dress - bandaid

Again, too too. I love the collar though. To the point of distraction.

Lemonade Dress - funny face

This one is Simplicity 7201, and I’m searching and searching but can’t find the pattern online. These patterns sometimes come from my mother-in-law who may or may not have made them back when she only had one grandchild about eight or nine years ago. So yeah, no link.

In other news, we now have a tire swing…

Lemonade Dress - tire swing

…and Gerald is probably going to win parent of the year for this one. They love the tire swing. Jerry loves the tire swing.

Jerry

He’s even got routines and stuff.

Jerry

But back to sewing because I made one more dress.

froggy boots

This is the Apple Blossom Dress. I like this one a lot. Not only is the fabric great, but the pattern is a proven winner (I made a bunch last year) and I can even find it online. It’s the Kendall pattern from Karen’s Art & Stitchery. Note how the picture from the link looks a bit different from my version.

blowing bubbles

I left out the collar and the sleeves, and the result is very informal. The perfect play dress. I also hemmed it only three inches – the pattern calls for a four inch hem. This pattern is so easy and the construction is perfect – the yoke is all lined, leaving no mess on the inside. If you can believe it, I even used french seams and hemmed it by hand.

buttons

I always try making other patterns (like the first two pictured above) and nothing ever comes out as cute as this simple, old-timey pattern.  I’m telling you, it’s even easier than Simplicity! Everything about this pattern is sweetness, and I am going to make Maggie wear these little baby dresses just as long as she’ll let me.

dirt

Yes, that’s mud. My fruity sweet girl is covered in mud.

oh well

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2008 6:43 pm

    Those dress are beautiful. I am jealous of your sewing compacity! I am also jealous that Maggie will let you still put her in dresses. Mine is a jean’s and t girl, with the occasional….ok a lot of mud as well. How are your green socks coming along?

  2. April 28, 2008 7:34 pm

    Oh, the little dresses are precious! I love them all–and I especially love the rick-rack on the cherries dress. Too adorable (and especially on Maggie).

  3. April 28, 2008 7:34 pm

    Oh my goodness what adorable dresses and photos. Your children really are precious! 🙂

  4. April 28, 2008 8:32 pm

    How adorable!

  5. April 28, 2008 9:08 pm

    So sweet. Maggie looks like the most precious dolly.

  6. April 28, 2008 9:52 pm

    How fun! Your kids are so adorable that they could make anything look good. But your dresses are so sweet that it’s makes her look even more precious!

  7. April 28, 2008 9:56 pm

    So cute . . . I loved sewing dresses for my daughter. She’s 22 now. How did that happen so fast?

  8. April 29, 2008 12:50 am

    So cute. Maggie is looking very grown up with her hair getting so long. You make me wish I had a daughter.

    How much fabric do those dresses take?

  9. aimeed permalink
    April 29, 2008 1:18 am

    Oh my, I may have to put that child on some toast and eat her, she looks so sweet. There’s always room for beautiful, handstitched dresses in this would. Too too or not.

  10. mandy permalink
    April 29, 2008 7:50 am

    love the patterns. I have to order the last one. I scored some of that cherrie fabris too. Lovely sewing and precious child. can hardly believe she is that big.

  11. April 29, 2008 2:36 pm

    So, so, so cute! You’re right. Maggie certainly can pull those dresses off, even if Mom thinks they’re too…
    Awesome work, lady!

  12. April 29, 2008 5:11 pm

    Total cuteness overload! I don’t thing they’re too too anything… they are so perfect for her 🙂

  13. April 29, 2008 8:38 pm

    I’ve already commented all over your flickr stream. but these are great dresses, and great photos. And I love the tire swing! We need one of those!

  14. crimsonpurl permalink
    April 29, 2008 10:13 pm

    Fantastic pics!!! And I love the cherry dress!!
    Like you can admit what you could improve on and still keep at it and truly do it!

  15. April 30, 2008 8:18 am

    What beautiful photos and lovely dresses – so cute. My 12-year-old and 15-year-old daughters won’t wear things like that anymore, why not (lol)?!!! I miss those days.
    That photo of your daughter on the tire swing – the action shot – is absolutely marvelous – an award winner! Thanks for sharing.

  16. April 30, 2008 2:22 pm

    Wow. Wow. WOW. These are all just fantastic. And that cherry one? Not *too* anything at all, except maybe just too stinkin’ cute I can hardly stand it. I’m a fool for any cherry print, it’s true, but this is just divine. I love everything about every single dress. And I LOVE the pics of her in her dress and covered in mud. I swear those belong in a book somewhere. Heartbreakingly beautiful shots.

    [Jerry’s a doll too, btw, and looking so grown up these days!]

  17. April 30, 2008 3:20 pm

    Oh to have a little girl to sew for. I don’t find a lot of good sewing to do for the Sir. But I think I am going to make him some pants. I love these dresses. Every single one.

  18. H-Spo permalink
    April 30, 2008 9:49 pm

    Dude, what is up with the rockin’ blonde hair on the Mag?

  19. friender permalink
    May 1, 2008 4:03 pm

    Oh, she’s growing up so much. The dresses are lovely.

  20. Chelsie permalink
    May 2, 2008 9:00 pm

    Mandy! Lovely dresses!!! And great fabric taste…. 😉 I just made Caroline’s 1st birthday dress (yes, BIRTHDAY!) with the AH “Juicy” lemon fabric… with stylized sweet pea fabric for the collar and binding on the short sleeves… (we’ve always called her sweet pea). Unfortunately, when I finished the dress, I realized that it MIGHT fit her at 2. Ha!

    Your baby girl looks so tough and delicate – all at once!!

  21. carpoolknitter permalink
    May 2, 2008 10:13 pm

    I don’t think the dresses are too too at all. I think they’re retro, spunky, wonderful and show the love put in with every stitch.

    Move over Jerry–I want to play on the tire swing; how much weight is that rope rated for?

Leave a Reply

