Skip to content

take two

April 21, 2008

The Very Good Thing and the Very Bad Thing that I talked about in my last post have had my complete attention over the past few days.

The first Zigzag Garter Stitch Sock is done.

Green Zigzags

But, taking a turn in the Very Bad Thing department, I decided to knit the second one with a short-row garter stitch toe.

Green Zigzags

I will either have to live with a pair of socks that are fundamentally different, or I’ll have to nip off that first toe and knit a new one. For some reason, I am not bothered by either outcome. The plan right now is to write up the pattern, so I want the socks to be how I want them. I find that my ideas sometimes take some time to catch up with my knitting.

The Very Bad Thing from the other day is on it’s way to full recovery. I’ll give you a tiny reminder of how bad it was: horribly wrong moccasin socks Now I will show you that I have committed myself to repairing it.

MocSock take two

That little safety pin on the instep is showing where I started my toe shaping the first time. After unraveling the sole, I added 1.75″ of length to the instep, and have already started the sole again.  This pattern is very, very fun to knit, and I can’t wait to see whether this time it’ll fit my foot.  Fingers crossed.

Please note:  When I said I was committed to repairing this sock, I did not say that I’ve committed to a whole pair.  I think that the desire to complete this fascinating pattern might be fulfilled by completing just one sock.  I’m not sure yet.  Pairs of socks are much more useful than just a sock, but maybe I have a golf club around here somewhere that needs a cozy.  Now that would be useful.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2008 3:34 pm

    Both socks are looking great. I really like the garter stitch toe.

  2. April 21, 2008 9:38 pm

    Ooh… I like that garter stitch toe! Either way is lovely, though!

  3. April 22, 2008 8:46 am

    Garter, baby! As for the other, you could use the yarn to make another sock in a totally different style/technique and then you’ll have a crazy fraternal sock set.

  4. April 22, 2008 2:07 pm

    Oh! Is that your sock pattern? I was just going to ask where you got it. I totally want that one. I love the zigzagstitch. I’ll be happy to buy it this time!

  5. April 22, 2008 2:35 pm

    Ooh I really like the garter toe – who says they have to be the same???

  6. April 22, 2008 7:40 pm

    You’re too funny. I like the socks both ways. 🙂

  7. April 24, 2008 5:32 am

    great zigzag pattern and colour. and as a reply to your comment on my blog i hope both maggie and alba will be bloggers when they get older and that alba will one day be very inspired by her great aunt’s great knitting stitchionaries. and maggie by your’s. we have certainly done our best and my little girl loves her knitted items.

  8. April 24, 2008 2:29 pm

    i am biased, as i am not a lover of knitting short row heels or toes…but i like the look of the sock all the same. as for the other, golf clubs are useful…as are socks for babies and toddlers…

  9. April 24, 2008 5:11 pm

    I love the garter stitch socks – in either incarnation! Awesome.

    Also, you could always turn the single sock that you’re repairing into a sock puppet. Couple of button eyes sewn on and you’re done.

  10. carpoolknitter permalink
    April 25, 2008 12:43 am

    I love to watch a designer bloom. :*)

Leave a Reply

