Skip to content

love and loathe

January 30, 2008

please block me

It’s one of those things that I love and hate about knitting: The wip always looks pretty horrible.

You gotta love the wonky wip because it’s very, very ugly. You’ve planned so much and put so much thought into something that looks bad. You’re husband looks at you and asks what you’re knitting (even though he knows it’s a hat) and just nods his head, questioning your sanity. But you must trust the knitting. You must trust your skillz. You must trust the blocking process.

third hat

By Sunday, it will look like a hat. I hope.

Edited:  This is the third hat, and it’s not done.  I have no idea what I’m doing for the last hat.  Extra-super-bulky yarn, perhaps?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2008 12:53 pm

    Does this mean there are 3 hats complete or is this hat #3? It looks like the team is approaching the 10 yd line…..Looks awesome. I’m guessing it is your hat?

  2. January 30, 2008 1:33 pm

    It does look great. Whose hat is the last one? If it’s for a child, I say you should go with the super-bulky and cheat like crazy to get it done!

  3. January 30, 2008 2:21 pm

    Uhoh – good luck! =)

  4. carpoolknitter permalink
    January 30, 2008 9:10 pm

    Use the force, zigzag. I have faith in your power.

  5. January 31, 2008 1:35 pm

    Make another pot of coffee and knit on! You’re being so creative with these hats, they’re fantastic.

    I hate the wonky WIP, I’m always so tempted to rip. The block and pray is definately one of my favorite knitting techniques.

  6. January 31, 2008 6:22 pm

    Hmm. Try Cascade 220 doubled. Or you could just sling blue and red skeins on your head. No one would blame you. Not a single person.

  7. January 31, 2008 7:43 pm

    I don’t think it looks wonky. Can’t wait to see all of the hats!

  8. February 1, 2008 10:02 pm

    I am sure you will finish in time. The last hat can just be the least intricate…right?

  9. February 2, 2008 11:24 pm

    *fingers crossed* I’m rooting for you!

Leave a Reply

