Skip to content

‘scrappy’

December 10, 2007

It first looked like this:

scrappy

And it became socks for Mag:

handspun socks

But there were issues with that batch of spinning. I won’t go into the details, and I did end up with a cutie pair of bitty socks, but we’ll just say there was a fight to the death with that first four ounces of fiber. I did not win.

That was a while ago (October?), and I still had another four ounces of fiber to play with. So on Saturday while the kids played outside with their father in some unseasonably warm weather, I got to it.

'scrappy' handspun

I guess I was going for worsted, but it came out rather bulky.  I still feel clueless about this whole spinning thing.  I enjoy doing it, I can make nice yarn, but I know there’s so much more to learn.  I’m just going to keep practicing and I think I’ll join the local spinning guild.

'scrappy' handspun

There is about 100 yards there and I love it unreasonably.  This morning it is finally dry, and it’s already on the pins.

Details: BFL Wool Top from Adrian at Hello Yarn, color ‘Scrappy’.

All I can think about is the rockin’ hat I’m going to make with this handspun, but I should be writing Christmas cards…baking the gingerbread…cleaning the house…you know how it is!  Off to knit!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2007 12:17 pm

    Look at those colors! How could you not love it unreasonably? can’t wait to see the hat it becomes.

  2. December 10, 2007 1:23 pm

    Pretty! Pretty! Pretty!! Your love for it doesn’t seem unreasonable to me at all!!

  3. December 10, 2007 2:04 pm

    I’m really glad I joined my guild – probably the best return on the money I’ve gotten in a long time. You should do it! :o)

  4. katie permalink
    December 10, 2007 2:20 pm

    Those are the prettiest colors, and the socks are so, so sweet! I would be clueless about spinning. So I don’t go there.

  5. December 10, 2007 2:28 pm

    Beautiful ! The colors are so yummy and vibrant!

    Keep practicing, the more time you spend with it, the easier it gets. I know how it feels, I’m completely self taught because there are no spinners near me.

  6. December 10, 2007 3:23 pm

    Gorgeous! I just joined my spinning guild for the reasons you listed. I like what I get but no way could I project forward to understand what I’ll get!

  7. December 10, 2007 5:26 pm

    So pretty and sweet on her feet!

  8. December 10, 2007 7:06 pm

    spinning looks great. i am so impressed with all you spinners.

  9. December 11, 2007 2:56 am

    Well, I think it’s beautiful, that spinning. And those socks (and you know how I feel about baby socks) are just perfect.

  10. carpoolknitter permalink
    December 12, 2007 1:47 am

    Is the hat for Maggie too? Cause I think I would look nice in it . . . I want to spin!

  11. December 16, 2007 6:51 pm

    Those socks are sooooo cute and on such an adorable model!

  12. December 21, 2007 8:57 pm

    The skein of handspun is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

