Skip to content

icky?

November 26, 2007

I have a whole bunch of wool/mohair roving.

mohair/wool roving

I wanted to try to dye it using the black walnuts from my backyard.

black walnuts

So this morning I took a sample of the roving and dyed it, then let it dry, then spun it.

I came to pass that the yarn was the same color as my hair…

mohair

…which was very strange since I had just yesterday read a thread on Ravelry about spinning with your own hair.  I assure you, I did not spin my own hair.  It’s kinda grossing me out.

A lot.

But at least I got a blog post out of it all.  And a good reason to finally splurge on some acid dyes.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2007 8:46 pm

    That is so wild!!! You look very Rapunzelish.

  2. November 26, 2007 9:28 pm

    That does match your hair – a very lovely color!

  3. kathleen permalink
    November 27, 2007 1:06 am

    ummmmm lovely…but please don’t knit me any hair shirts. I do enough penance : )

    love,
    SIL

  4. November 27, 2007 1:15 am

    It’s not the coloring of my hair, I think it’s awesome.

  5. November 27, 2007 1:39 am

    How very odd. The picture is great though.

    I think it’s awesome how you dyed the yarn with walnuts from your yard. How did you learn about plant dying?

  6. November 27, 2007 12:14 pm

    so we now know that the offical color of your hair is black walnut? that is bizare. lovely color but woudl creep me out. i am weirded out by yarn from hair and even dog hair and chinchilla. (my sister has a chinchilla and plans to make yarn)

  7. November 27, 2007 1:29 pm

    I read that discussion on Ravelry, I agree, human yarn is pretty gross.

  8. knittingelephant permalink
    November 27, 2007 1:34 pm

    I love the color and am very happy to hear it’s NOT your hair all spun up! 😉

  9. November 27, 2007 2:16 pm

    How funny – it does match your hair! =)

  10. noreen permalink
    November 27, 2007 11:33 pm

    i think you are supposed to soak the crushed or just plain bashed walnuts in enough water to cover for four or five days.then boil for a couple of hours.

    outside preferably, unless you want a polkadotted kitchen and children.

    allow to soak overnight.

    strain.

    put wet material in warm dye bath .

    stir often.

    keep it in there ’til you get the desired colour.

    slainte .

    i’ll help you if you like.

    and by the way i think thats a lovely colour. save some for me for furniture stain.

  11. November 28, 2007 10:04 am

    I think it is a beautiful result! I would love to try it sometime. I have to admit, I did not realize that was the yarn on your head – I thought it was a braid… only with a closer look did I notice!

  12. November 28, 2007 10:47 am

    Ditto Lolly (except for the trying it some time – the last thing I need to do is get into dying or spinning!).

  13. November 28, 2007 3:05 pm

    I, too, think it’s super cool that you dyed up roving from organic substances from your yard. (i wrote ‘yarn’ initially instead of ‘yard’–geez, I almost did it again.)

  14. kathleen permalink
    November 30, 2007 12:25 am

    oh…totally off topic for knitting…but that is a way cool piece of green fabric with the UFOs on it under the roving. Is that part of our stash…or alredy sewn : ) ?

    SIL

  15. Laurie permalink
    December 3, 2007 7:58 am

    Very funny! Who would have thought that your hair color was black walnut??

  16. December 3, 2007 9:35 pm

    The yarn turned out such a gorgeous color! Of course, that means that your hair is also gorgeous, too!

  17. December 11, 2007 7:47 pm

    The wool is nice, but the hair is absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

