Skip to content

sock phase

September 15, 2007

I could say that I don’t like knitting socks. In fact, I used to say just that. But can that be true if I have four pairs of socks on the pins right now?

toes

Deep down, I wish I were a sweater knitter. I do! I wish I could crank out tweedy, stranded, cabled, shaped, buttoned, hooded, zippered beauties. But lately, all I feel the urge to do is knit socks.

three socks

I’m selfish with my knitting. I don’t knit anything that isn’t making me happy. Sure, there are projects or parts of projects I will slog through, but I’m only gonna knit what’s fun. It is a hobby after all.

Sock Bag

The sock phase will pass, I’m sure.  Probably to be replaced by a hat phase.  Man, I love knitting hats.  Or maybe there will be a spinning phase (see the handspun peeking out of the bag?).  Perhaps even a sweater phase!

For now, just socks.  And I’m happy about it.  The challenge will be finishing them all before the phase passes.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2007 12:12 pm

    Hey, I’m mostly a sock gal, too! Nothin’ wrong with that. Your socks are gorgeous!

  2. September 15, 2007 12:59 pm

    Nothing wrong with socks — and you’ve got some lovelies there!

  3. September 15, 2007 1:51 pm

    Love the socks, and I have to tell you, because you don’t seem to be aware of it…you *are* a sweater knitter. Um, have you momentarily forgotten all of the sweaters you have knitted? If *you* aren’t a sweater knitter, then I don’t know who is! But, anyway. I think everyone goes through phases of being more into one kind of project. I do, too. I have been completely uninterested in knitting all summer, and now for the last week all I want to do is knit kids’ sweaters. Can’t stop myself from dreaming about the next one, even while I’m working on the current one. I have even been waking up dreaming about my future WIPs.

  4. September 15, 2007 3:30 pm

    Pretty, pretty, all of them. And the bag? Me likey!

  5. Robin permalink
    September 15, 2007 3:32 pm

    Oooh… I love the yarn for the sock at the top in the first picture–the orangy, pinkish, purple fuzzy one. What kind is it???

  6. friender permalink
    September 15, 2007 4:22 pm

    Yeah, how about that bag?! More info on it, please. The socks are really very nice. All toe-up! I hear you, sock sister. I just cast-off my first pair for me today.

  7. September 15, 2007 5:55 pm

    Loooove the Kaffe yarn. I feel like a ‘real’ knitter when I can recognize the yarns on their own. Or maybe that just means I have a yarn or blog reading problem.

  8. September 15, 2007 6:22 pm

    I hear ya! Seems that all I ever do is knit socks.

  9. September 15, 2007 7:40 pm

    I think I am the opposite. I love knitting sweaters for small children, and for larger adults too. I knit a pair of socks every now and then but really need to be more motivated and use up some of my sock yarn stash. Your socks look great, and by knitting so many pairs at once you wont get bored with any of them will you.

  10. Sarah permalink
    September 15, 2007 8:50 pm

    Can I have some socks?

    🙂

  11. Anne permalink
    September 15, 2007 9:55 pm

    Found you! Such intoxicating colors, who wouldn’t keep knitting socks? I’m thinking about a spinning phase too . . .

  12. September 15, 2007 10:38 pm

    I am also a sock junkie. There I said it. It’s true. You have knit beautiful sweaters – so you are a sweater knitter. Don’t forget the one you are knitting for your sister! I knit socks because I can take them just about anywhere and they are a quick knit – when I’m committed to finishing them. Your yarn is beautiful. One day I will be a sweater knitter too – but in the mean time, thank goodness for socks!

  13. September 18, 2007 11:08 am

    I just cannot get into socks. Seems everyone else can but not me. I’ve made it down the ankle, past the heel and into the foot but never clear to the toe. I like some instant gratification with my knitting so you would think I would love socks. I just can never seem to finish even one! Maybe I’d like the toe up version. What intrigues you about socks?

  14. September 18, 2007 11:09 am

    I just cannot get into socks. Seems everyone else can but not me. I’ve made it down the ankle, past the heel and into the foot but never clear to the toe. I like some instant gratification with my knitting so you would think I would love socks. I just can never seem to finish even one! Maybe I’d like the toe up version. What intrigues you about socks?

  15. September 18, 2007 4:16 pm

    I don’t know if I enjoy knitting socks or not, I like to knit and socks seem logical and small, very portable, so I knit them. I like wearing hand knit socks… I wish a were a sweater knitter too.

  16. September 25, 2007 2:05 am

    Good for you! Are you keeping any of these?

Trackbacks

  1. How to make the perfect bag. « zigzag stitch

Leave a Reply

