Skip to content

Why she gets the socks.

September 5, 2007

I’ve had this Trekking XXL (color 100) yarn in my stash for a while. I tried a few patterns but for some reason the yarn never became socks.

trekking xxl color 100

Then I started knitting socks toe-up, discovered that sock knitting is fun, and decided it was finally time to make this beautiful yarn into wearable socks for me. I simply am in love with the colors.

I’m also working on another pair of socks in beautiful yarn. They will be for my mother-in-law, Noreen, and the yarn is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in ‘Amish’ (a puzzling name for a yarn until you see this).

socks in progress

On Sunday we headed over to Noreen’s house for our weekly get-together. As usual, I took my knitting. I wanted her to try on the Amish sock to be sure the fit was good, and I took along the Trekking sock just for good measure. Noreen always asks “What’s on the pins?” and when I pulled out the Trekking sock she gushed over it, coveted it, practically drooled on it.

Trekking 100

So the mother-in-law will get both pairs of socks, Lorna’s and Trekking. As much as I love the Trekking and want to keep the socks for myself, the decision was easy and quick. Here’s why.

  1. Noreen taught me how to knit.
  2. She knows how to darn hand knit socks. As a child, her father insisted that she be the only one who darned his socks because she was the best at it.
  3. She actually bought the yarn. It came from a yarn store in Lexington, SC that we went to while visiting my sister-in-law. Souvenir yarn!
  4. The socks will be put to good use, and live up to their name, when she takes them trekking through the Alps in February.
  5. She has been hinting about wanting hand knit socks for quite some time.
  6. She said, “If you’re worried about your stash I’ll just get you some more yarn.”
  7. If all that weren’t enough, she would give me the shirt off her back if I asked.

socks in progress

In Other Topics…

Back at the beginning of August, Knittypants named me a Rockin’ Girl Blogger.  I wanted to say a big thanks!  I’m honored!

I have loved hearing about everyone’s Best Ever from my last post.  You guys ALL rock.  Some have posted their stories on their blogs, or in the comments, and I’ve enjoyed each and every one.

My mother and mother-in-law both read my blog, but are both non-commenters, which is fine.  But I’ve had this secret competition going (with myself) to see who would be the first to make a comment, other than just saying to me on the phone, “Oh, I read your blog today!”  Surely, today’s post would entice my mother-in-law to chime in.  In a surprising turn of events, my mom commented this morning on her best ever (it’s cute, go look)!  What a nice surprise, and Hi Mom!  Noreen, now it’s your turn.  Love, Mandy.

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2007 2:43 pm

    Your MIL is a most-deserving recipient!

  2. September 5, 2007 3:34 pm

    Yes, definately desreves the socks! I think she will appreciate and love them (both pairs!).

  3. September 5, 2007 3:45 pm

    Noreen is certainly a gem! It sounds as if she will love and wear both pairs well.

  4. September 5, 2007 4:09 pm

    She’s deserving! That’s for sure. Any mother-in-law who will definitely appreciate handknit anything is a gem. not to mention one who buys you yarn and would do absolutely anything for you. You’re lucky! Oh and your mom’s comment was too cute.

  5. September 5, 2007 5:50 pm

    Very pretty colors! Very deserving recipient!

  6. September 5, 2007 7:02 pm

    My Trekking 100 socks are among my very favorites! Your MIL will adore them. I love that Amish colorway too.

  7. noreen permalink
    September 5, 2007 11:55 pm

    Mandy

    Look under ‘Best Ever’

    noreen

  8. September 6, 2007 1:39 am

    A very deserving lady indeed!
    Love love love the Trekking XXL, I’ll have to look for that colorway.

  9. September 7, 2007 12:09 pm

    Sweet post and gorgeous socks!

Leave a Reply

