Skip to content

the sound of things

August 28, 2007

I am pretty accustomed to the sounds of my house. As a stay-at-home-mom, I have gotten used to all the noises and creaks and squeaks that I hear every day. The fridge running, the screen door slamming, the postman driving by.

The kid’s noises, too, are very familiar to me. Jerry flipping through a book on the couch. Maggie rolling around in her crib at night, about to wake up. The absence of noise which always, always spells trouble.

There are noises that I have come to really love. Jerry plodding through the house at night to come snuggle in our bed. I always hear him coming. Or Maggie yelling Da-dy! Da-dy! when she’s doing something cute and she wants Daddy to come see (even if he’s not even home). The sound of Gerald’s work truck pulling up the driveway. The best sound of all because it means the kids are about to have someone else to look at besides me.

bus stop

Jerry started Kindergarten today. He got on the bus this morning, waved back at us, and off he went. It has been a fun time; lots of talking about school, getting school supplies, buying pencils, glue sticks, folders. He is completely ready, and totally excited. But for me? Agh! Too much! With all the big changes, all I can manage to knit right now is socks.

Lorna's Laces

Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Amish, You’re Putting Me On! toe-up socks (free pattern).

The plain sock is the perfect thing for me to knit as I adjust to this whole school thing.  Minimal knitty thinking required.  Just the perfect project.

I’ll be working on this sock on the front porch later, listening for the bus to turn up our street, memorizing the sound that will become my new favorite.  The sound of the school bus bringing my boy home to me.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2007 10:23 am

    Oh, he’s so little and cute! I hope his big first day goes well — for him, and for you, too!

  2. August 28, 2007 10:48 am

    😦

  3. August 28, 2007 11:29 am

    He looks so ready to take on the world! I hope his first day was great and that they days get easier for you!

  4. August 28, 2007 12:20 pm

    Oh my goodness, I teared up reading your post. I hope he enjoys kindergarten and he comes back to you full of stories, games and songs to share.

    And please tell me where you got your metal dpns? I need some. Thanks.

  5. August 28, 2007 12:33 pm

    Oh I remember my oldest child’s first day just like it was yesterday. Delight in all your son’s joy! kindergarten is a magical time for little ones.
    Cheers

  6. August 28, 2007 3:40 pm

    What a sweet post. I love hearing the sounds of our home, too. Except for the fighting, “OW! Mama! She bit me!” ones, of course. You’re doing great, letting him go. It’s hard.

  7. August 28, 2007 4:32 pm

    Ah, that was me last year. Thanks for bringing back those sweet memories.

    He looks so happy and excited for his first day!

  8. August 28, 2007 7:35 pm

    Such a big boy!! He looks so excited for kindergarten. Hope he’ll always be that excited about school!

    This is going to be me next year. Walking out to the bus-stop an hour before Nikolai arrives home…

  9. August 28, 2007 7:53 pm

    Aw poor Mama! Mine started preschool this Monday and she’ll start full time next Monday…oy. What a big boy though.

  10. August 28, 2007 8:31 pm

    Oh, he’s so cute. And I love your thoughts about favorite sounds throughout the day, very sweet.

  11. Chelsie permalink
    August 29, 2007 12:45 pm

    Ahhhh! A baby off to school! How terribly EXCITING for him… but as a new mama, I can’t even imagine Caroline waving goodbye to me and hopping on a bus! Maybe I’ll be ready for it in five years. 🙂
    Congrats on this next chapter!!

    Sewed my first baby dress last night… just need to get elastic for the diaper cover and snaps for the back of the dress… simple design – but baby girl needed something special for her Daddy’s big celebration! (Last day in the Air Force…) The dress is a navy blue with red and white fireworks exploding… of course they’re exploding UPSIDE DOWN, because hey! it’s my first dress! 🙂

  12. August 29, 2007 2:23 pm

    How sweet! I hope his first day went well!

  13. August 29, 2007 3:20 pm

    The first day of Kindergarten is such a bittersweet moment! I remember being so proud of my suddenly bigger boy….and so sad that he was now big enough to be without me for part of the day. I hope he comes home excited and happy with a big hug for you.

  14. August 29, 2007 5:55 pm

    Your son looks so cute. I am sure he will have a wonderful day and you will get used to it eventually. I used to turn on the tv just to hear someone talking at first when my daughter started school because I was so used to hearing her talk all the time it felt weird when the house was quiet. I am quite sure those socks wont take too long to knit up either.

  15. August 30, 2007 11:14 am

    i will never ever ask for the pattern…. but omg your children are so cute to look at and from what you say just as nice to be with. and then all those cute knitterly things.

  16. mandy permalink
    August 30, 2007 11:47 am

    man, can not believe ella nd jerry are in school. hope you and maggie are keeping busy!

  17. August 31, 2007 8:54 pm

    I’m a little teary now. Jerry looks so grown up and ready for his new world! Your sock looks yummy – perfect therapy.

Leave a Reply

