Skip to content

coming home

August 23, 2007

I think today is Thursday, but it feels like Monday. Must be because I have been at the beach.

beach view

The beach was Edisto, in South Carolina. It was glorious, hot, salty, sandy, and fun. Nothing beats family time with favorite cousins and wine time with grown-ups after all the littles have gone to sleep.

mmmmm, shrimp

beachfront

mag

Now we’re home, and I was happy to discover my Sockapalooza socks waiting for me in the mailbox!

I got my socks!

Too hot outside to wear both socks at the same time, but I assure you the second is as lovely as the first! The package was full of beautiful hand knit socks, but nothing else. No clues as to who had made these beauties.

This morning, though, came an email from my pal who included a link to the details about the socks. The yarn is KOIGU. Yea for me! Thank you so much Whichy, the socks are perfect.

Speaking of Sockapalooza, I should also mention that my pal got her socks, too! Kathy, blogging over at Vast Amount of Spare Time (love that blog name) was very fun to knit for. She shows the stuff I sent her here. I enjoyed following her blog and will continue to do so. The best part of Sockapalooza (other than getting a beautiful pair of handknit socks, of course) was acting like a crazy lunatic with my knitting buddy Lisa. We went to our town’s best landmark and took pictures of our socks being touristy.

Chest of Drawers

That, folks, is the World’s Largest Chest of Drawers! But don’t wonder how much yarn it took to make the 6 foot long socks hanging from the drawer – they’re just plastic.

Ah, the silliness of it all!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2007 12:19 pm

    Sounds & looks like lots of fun. The socks are beautiful and Kouigu, lucky duck!

  2. friender permalink
    August 23, 2007 12:42 pm

    How wonderful – all of it! Your trip (oh how I miss the beach) and your sock are so cute. I love contrasting heels and toes.

  3. August 23, 2007 1:23 pm

    I realized after I sent them off that I had failed to put any useful info in them. *sigh* I plead newbie.

    Enjoy!

  4. August 23, 2007 1:50 pm

    Hi there! I am a fellow NC knitter as well, and since you say that the big dresser is your town’s land mark I assume you live in the High Point/Greensoboro area? Your socks are beautiful.

  5. August 23, 2007 1:55 pm

    Love the Koigu socks! And I continue to love the socks you sent. They literally brighten my day each time I put them on 🙂

  6. August 23, 2007 3:09 pm

    Love the beach pictures – looks like a lovely time. And yours new socks look yummy!

    I love that you took the socks you made to the World’s Largest Dresser.

  7. August 23, 2007 3:23 pm

    Welcome back! That picture of your daughter ookin out the window is the sweetest thing!

  8. August 23, 2007 3:23 pm

    Glad you had a great time! The silly things you see on a trip – giant chest of drawers!

  9. August 23, 2007 5:01 pm

    Welcome back, sounds like you had a wonderful time. And great new socks, look very cuddly and warm.

  10. August 23, 2007 10:04 pm

    Your holiday destination looks wonderful. The beach is always a great way to unwind. I love the socks you received, and I am knitting the same pair of socks, Gentlemans Fancy Socks too. I am on the 2nd one and hope to finish it up soon.

  11. August 24, 2007 12:41 am

    When you said you were going to the beach I imagined a day trip… Living 1/2 a mile from the beach has deluded me a bit.
    Your pictures are beautiful, I hope it was a good relaxing vacation for you.
    The socks look great, the pink and green Koigu is so pretty, and I’m thinking of making the Gentleman’s Fancy socks soon.

  12. Chelsie permalink
    August 31, 2007 11:19 pm

    We have the same HUGE chest of drawers and ugly socks in Anchorage too!!! Weird…

Trackbacks

  1. Which-Crafts? » Blog Archive » Sockapalooza Sock in its Natural Environment

Leave a Reply

