Skip to content

learning by doing.

July 24, 2007

For a while there, I thought that if I just imagined that I was a good spinner, then I would become one. Finally I came to my senses and started practicing. I made this:

girlish

into this:

actual yarn

which today became this:

handspun ganomy

The wool came from Adrian at Hello Yarn (yes, I am in love with her and all her stupid good colors). It came to me as 4 ounces of Blue Faced Leicester wool top, color ‘Girlish’. Then I spun it up – technical terms still lacking – plied it, then knit it. I could not wait another minute to see what it would look like knitted up.

The pattern is EZ’s Ganomy from Knitter’s Almanac. I used my math skills and some guess work to size it down to fit Maggie. I did not take notes. The major modification I made was to add a third line of decreases at the center top to minimize the bumpy nippleage that happens when you knit the pattern as written.

I think it was Friday night that I spun the ‘Girlish’ and I took a break from spinning on Saturday. Sunday night something clicked, I slowed down the treadling, and I think my second try is much, much better.

trodden

This is also from Hello Yarn, Corriedale wool top in ‘Trodden’ this time.

Practicing works! It feels like this spinning thing is going to take me a while. Years, I mean. For the first month I had the wheel I wanted to make yarn immediately! But staring at the wheel hoping it would magically produce yarn didn’t seem to work. I feel better now that I’ve actually made yarn, and I don’t feel rushed anymore. Just from my first few tries I have learned so much.

Now all I need is a niddy noddy, extral bobbins, a crock-pot for dying, books about spinning, and a sheep. Or a flock of them. That is all.

handspun ganomy

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    July 24, 2007 8:46 pm

    That is SO COOL. I wish I could get you a sheep.

    Someday….

    someday….

  2. July 24, 2007 10:21 pm

    Good job with the spinning! Those are gorgeous colors.

    And Maggie is a sweetheart!

  3. h-spo permalink
    July 24, 2007 11:47 pm

    Is “bumpy nippleage” one of those technical terms that you speak of?

  4. h-spo permalink
    July 24, 2007 11:49 pm

    oh, and the mag kinda breaks my heart. she is so adorable i can’t even stand it. oh, i’m feeling a bit vaclempt. discuss.

  5. July 24, 2007 11:57 pm

    The hat looks awesome (Mag too as always). You’ll be an expert in no time; that second attempt looks great. Those colors are awesome.

  6. July 25, 2007 1:48 am

    Gorgeous hat, and simply adorable baby girl. How fun to see it spun up and then knit, look forward to seeing what you do next.

  7. July 25, 2007 2:29 am

    The spinning looks wonderful. Adrian’s colors are always fabulous and I think you’ve really brought them all out. For a minute I thought the Ganomy was another top-down bonnet. Very nice.

  8. July 25, 2007 6:04 am

    This is great! Nice job! The hat looks great!

  9. July 25, 2007 7:32 am

    Your spinning looks wonderful, as does your knitting and the baby. Keep up the good work!
    Enjoy,
    Candy

  10. July 25, 2007 9:49 pm

    The fiber, the yarn, the hat – so beautiful!

  11. July 26, 2007 6:57 pm

    it is very very cute. your little girl is wonderful and the hat and the wool and the spinning. i don’t think i can learn it, but those that do things learn things, as they say.

  12. August 4, 2007 3:58 pm

    Wow. You are rocking. Very impressive.

  13. Kathy permalink
    November 15, 2007 5:44 pm

    SO adorable!! Both the hat and your daughter!

Leave a Reply

