Skip to content

Knitted Garter Stitch Blanket

June 13, 2007

The Blanket is finished!

Garter Stitch Blanket Finished

Knitted Garter Stitch Blanket from The Opinionated Knitter by Elizabeth Zimmermann.
Knit on size 15 needles.
Using odd balls of mostly worsted yarn, held double.
Final size about 68″ x 42″, but very very stretchy in every direction.
Began on June 4, finished today, June 13.

“Phew” is all I can say. I was really focused on this project. Probably because I was so bored with knitting socks, and socks were the only thing on the pins before I started this.

Garter Stitch Blanket Finished

It is large and wonderful and I just peeked in on Gerald and he’s using it. Which doesn’t necessarily mean he likes it, but he’s using it.

We admired it from inside today.

on the porch

And that’s about all I have to say about it.  It was fun to knit, I’m glad it’s over, the yarn has been used up, and hopefully we’ll enjoy it for years to come.  My stash has a big hole in it after I used up all those leftover bits that had been around for so long; I need new projects to keep making odd balls.  I’ve already cast on for a sweater for Maggie, and have plans for a Wallabyesque hooded vest for Jerry.

CONTEST!
My dear friend Sarah LeMieux is trying to make us all join and upload pictures to this interesting website, and in doing so you cast a vote for her to get a really awesome gig. I did it last night and it just took me about five minutes.

Sarah’s music can be heard on her MySpace page.
If you like what you hear, and I know you will, then join her group and cast your vote by clicking here.
To learn more about the interesting website, click here.

And, she crochets.

AND. I will give away yarn. If you cast a vote for Sarah, just leave me a comment to let me know. I’ll randomly draw a winner on Sunday (or thereabouts) and I’ll send you some yarn! You can choose from sock yarn or lace weight or some worsted (4 balls!).

So please, take some time and vote.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2007 10:51 pm

    I love the blanket! The colors worked out very nicely. Seriously, so cool!

  2. H-Spo permalink
    June 13, 2007 11:36 pm

    i voted.

    i love the blanket.

    i still have to tell you about the harlot.

  3. June 14, 2007 12:48 am

    How totally beautiful.

  4. June 14, 2007 9:24 am

    I love the way the colors work together. How can it not be loved?

  5. Sarah permalink
    June 14, 2007 1:09 pm

    I love mandy. That blanket is gorgeous.

  6. June 14, 2007 1:29 pm

    It looks great! I’ve never seen one made up. I have always dreamed about making this blanket out of Sheepsdown like EZ. Maybe this winter…. It’ll cost a fortune but I think it would last lifetimes.

    Thanks for the reminder!

  7. June 14, 2007 4:01 pm

    It looks fantastic!

  8. June 14, 2007 6:14 pm

    I love it! You did a fabulous job. (I especially love the way it looks draped over the rocking chair). Congrats on getting it done in time for Father’s Day!

  9. June 14, 2007 8:53 pm

    The blanket is beautiful, I love how the colors work together. So pretty.

  10. June 14, 2007 10:59 pm

    I voted too finally. Ditto on the blanket! Can’t wait to see your newest FO in pictures.

  11. June 15, 2007 5:04 am

    The blanket turned out great and the pic of it on the deck chair looks quite professional!

  12. June 15, 2007 11:59 am

    Your blanket is wonderful! That’s just something I love to see and knit as well. ;o)

  13. June 15, 2007 5:39 pm

    The blanket is beautiful. It looks so snuggly and cozy. This is another reason for me to get the Opinionated Knitter…

    I voted!

  14. June 15, 2007 7:03 pm

    Fantastic job Mandy! I love all the colors in it!

  15. June 16, 2007 12:29 pm

    That is seriously amazing! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way you used odd bits and balls (my ends and leftovers fill almost an entire bin!) and I love the way they came out. I have never seen a version of the blanket knitted up (though I have long admired it in the EZ book!) Your version is SO INSPIRING!

Leave a Reply

