Skip to content

wheel/blanket

June 8, 2007

The new toy is a spinning wheel.

brand new

I can hardly believe that this impressive hunk of machinery belongs to me. I barely know how to use it, but come nightfall I’ll be practicing. Jerry would pedal it like a bicycle and Maggie would get her fingers stuck somewhere if I leave it around the house during the day. So for now it is exclusively nighttime entertainment. The first night was definitely less entertainment and more utter frustration. But among all the frustration I had moments of actual yarn being produced and that was delightful.

Spinning practice can only begin, though, once the Garter Stitch Obsession of My Life has faded. I’m almost at the exact mid-point of a blanket for Gerald.

pile of garter

garter stitch blanket is growing

The pattern is the Knitted Garter Stitch Blanket from The Opinionated Knitter by EZ. I’m using mostly worsted yarn, mostly wool, always held double. I’m knitting it on size 15 needles. The resulting fabric is very stretchy and squishy.

There are three good things about this project. First, I’m using odd balls of yarn left over from other stuff. I’m a little sad to use the yarn that has been sitting around for so long, but I’m glad to free up the space. Second, my husband has only ever asked for one knitted thing from me (if you don’t count the time he asked for a Michael Strahan jersey) and I’m finally getting to it. Third, this garter stitch business is super fast. Super fast. And soothing.

I started this project by separating my scraps into two piles. The colors you see above were in one pile. Here’s the other pile.

Blues

The one big rule that I made at the beginning of the project was that I wouldn’t worry about the placement of colors. If I had tried to plan out the sequence I would have gone nutty. So I started with a color that Jerry chose and knit with it until that color ran out. Then, if Jerry was awake he could choose the next color. If not, I would reach into the bag and use whatever I pulled out.

Some colors have been repeated for one reason or another. If I came upon a knot or something in the yarn, I cut it and continued with another color. Also, I used some Noro and if the colors were shifting away from the “pinks” I stopped knitting with that section of it. The other time I stopped with a color before the ball ran out was when I got to the corners. It looks better, I think, if the corners are set off by different colors. Nonetheless, I still used the random grab method to choose the next color.

I can’t decide if my rules have resulted in a butt ugly blanket, or a modern quilt-like work of art.

more garter

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2007 11:42 am

    How exciting to be 1/2 finished. You’ll be all ready for Father’s Day! Be sure to make him model the blanket. 🙂

  2. June 8, 2007 12:07 pm

    I think the blanket’s lovely. I love how you’re letting Jerry pick the next colors. My kids would love to be your knitting helpers.
    And a spinning wheel!?!?!?!
    If I wasn’t busy being happy for you I’d be insanely jealous right now. What a lucky lady you are. I’ve ben thinking of learning to spin so let us know how everything goes. And can we see your handspun soon?

  3. Sarah permalink
    June 8, 2007 2:15 pm

    I say work of art.

  4. June 8, 2007 4:11 pm

    Oh, I love the site redesign, so crisp and clean. And how jealous am I? Your dreams have become a reality…mine, not so much.

  5. June 8, 2007 7:55 pm

    No doubt about it: Work of art!
    I love your colour combinations. I’m knitting a baby blanket at the moment and wish I had a bigger choice of colours, but I haven’t the time to make changes now – there’s a deadline looming!

  6. June 8, 2007 9:27 pm

    I think the blanket is turning out lovely, the colors look good. Your sorting at the beginning was a good idea.

    Fun new toy, look forward to seeing your yarn making.

  7. June 9, 2007 1:55 am

    Very very cool! Have fun with it.

  8. June 9, 2007 4:27 am

    I think the blanket is looking absolutely gorgeous!

  9. June 9, 2007 1:04 pm

    My vote is for modern quilt-like work of art!!!

    And kudos on the new toy. I look forward to seeing what you crank out!

  10. June 9, 2007 11:28 pm

    Nice new design for your blog! And wow, I’m in awe of your spinning wheel. seriously.

  11. June 12, 2007 5:45 am

    wow so nice to see the blanket in the making. it is lovely. love it in the opinionated and i love your colourful version. lovely.

  12. June 13, 2007 11:24 pm

    I love your blanket. Of course I read the whole thing backward… seeing the finished project first. What type of yarn did you use? Is it all the same weight?

Leave a Reply

