Skip to content

new toys

June 5, 2007

Last post, I mentioned that I got a new toy. I’m still waiting – the shipment was delayed until tomorrow (Wednesday). So the waiting continues for that little surprise.

In the mean time, I got other new toys that are certainly making me feel very giddy.

Tools

A ball winder and a swift! Less than $50 for both!

I have been wanting these for months, but didn’t want to clunk down all that money at one time. My Mother’s Day present from my guys was to buy myself what I wanted, so I decided it would be a swift. Or a ball winder. I couldn’t decide! Which comes first? The swift or the ball winder? It’s a knitting mystery. So instead of choosing, I just kept putting it off.

Then yesterday I was at the local yarn store for their 3rd anniversary sale. I got to pick out a coupon with a discount percentage on it. I picked 15% and I thought I’d check out the swift and ball winder prices to see if I could swing it. I was expecting to pay about $100 for both, but the swift they carry was $100 by itself. I went in the back room with the owner so she could show me how to set it up.

She explained how they upgraded to the more expensive ones because they kept breaking the cheaper models. Well, whaddya know. The broken one was sitting right there, all sad and lonely and forgotten.

“Does it still work?” I inquired.

“Yes,” she said.

“Would you sell it to me?” I may have been weak in the knees, anticipating the answer.

“Of course! Hey, our old ball winder makes a terrible clicking sound, but it still works. Do you want that, too?”

I felt like I was cheating, or something. It was so easy and cheap! The swift was $25 and it has one broken arm. I’ve already wound about five skeins without a bit of trouble. And the ball winder was only $20 and I seriously can’t tell what the heck they’re talking about with the clicking.

So, do you want to come over and play with my new toys? Silly question, I know. But the kids were so cute yesterday sitting in their motorcycles that I took their picture. Then I realized it’s more a picture of my knitting spot. So come on over and take a look around.

Front Room

If you click on the picture, you can read all the notes (all twenty of them!) I added about my room. Because I know you’re dying to know!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2007 9:56 pm

    Fantastic deal! Wow. Now I know who to call when Common Threads is closed. ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember the thing clicking when she went super fast with it. So have you wound all your hanks yet?

    Can’t wait to see pictures of your other surprise.

  2. Sarah permalink
    June 6, 2007 12:15 am

    Man, I wanna come over and play with your toys! Your front room is awesome, and I would like to sit on the couch and crochet for a while, while the kids get into some kind of sticky hillarious mess.

    Sigh.

  3. June 6, 2007 12:16 am

    What a great deal! The photo of Jerry and the winder in action is great.
    My kids like to park in their laundry baskets too, but they have motorboats instead.
    Thanks for sharing your house, fun to see.

  4. June 6, 2007 7:27 am

    What a great deal! That’s is just amazing!

  5. June 6, 2007 9:43 am

    Oh serendipitous joy! My ball winder and swift are my favorite toys, really. I love winding yarn into cakes…almost as much actually knitting those cakes into something. And the kids have fun with it too?! Happiness all around!

  6. Kristy permalink
    June 6, 2007 12:06 pm

    Where is this yarn shop? Always looking for a new place! Love the motorcycles. I didn’t know you had kids who could ride Harleys. Those are sooooo obviously Harley baskets if I ever saw one!

  7. June 6, 2007 6:17 pm

    Great knitting spot! How funny – boys in laundry baskets!

  8. June 6, 2007 8:17 pm

    Great deal on your new toys! I love your kids motorcycles, they have such great imaginations.

  9. June 6, 2007 8:35 pm

    Wow – what a deal on your toys!!

    So Cheez-Its did the trick, eh? Maybe I ought to try it. I’d do anything to keep my boys still for an hour – even if it meant sharing my Cheez-Its!!

  10. June 7, 2007 3:16 pm

    What a cute photo of the kids and love the notes, too.

    I hope by now you are busy enjoying your big surprise toy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. June 8, 2007 6:48 am

    Oh, that’s funny! My little daughter loves to sit in the basket too, but she demands that I drag her around the house. I have to get her to be like your kids to give myselfe more knitting time.

Leave a Reply

