Skip to content

Rapunzel – Prince Charming – Cinderella

May 13, 2007

My Aunt in Buffalo has a farm with animals. She does hayrides in the fall and lots of educational school field trips throughout the year. Her kids do chores like feed the pigs and water the rabbits and all manner of typical farm stuff. I love that. Someday I want a farm.

It is always fun to visit because we get to see all the animals and have pony rides, I mean, miniature horse rides and feed the ducks and collect the eggs.

Okay, the real reason that it is fun to visit the farm is because my Aunt is a fiber person. She spins, she dyes wool, she quilts, she knits. Her specialty, I think, is needle felting. She once taught me how to needle felt and sent me home with a large bag filled with bits of fiber from all her sheep, goats and bunnies.

My Aunt has been waiting for me to visit so she could give me some yarn. I haven’t been back to Buffalo in a while (and it’s been even longer since I’ve been to her farm), so she finally just sent it down here with my Mom. A mystery hank arrived on Thursday:

unidentified

There was no lable so I emailed her immediately to find out more about this mystery yarn. My guess was that it was mohair and I thought she spun and dyed it herself. Here is part of the email that she sent back:

Hi Mandy,

Glad you like the yarn. It is 70% Mohair (grown by Rapunzel and Prince Charming) and 30% Romney (thanks to Cinderella). It is a 3 ply DK (double knit). The mill that spun it for me said it would be great for sox among other things. So see what you can create! It should weigh about 4 0z. and be about 220+ yards. Have fun!

Isn’t that awesome? Rapunzel, Prince Charming and Cinderella! So she didn’t spin it, but she dyed it! I can’t wait to swatch it up. I could make her a shawl. Or make something for ME!

unidentified

Or I might just let it sit around for a while so I can look at it. Or maybe I’ll wind it into a ball with my new ball winder that I’m buying for myself for Mother’s Day (Happy Mother’s Day moms!). I must get up to Buffalo for a visit, for perhaps it would mean I’d get more fibery gifts – and of course it would be fun to visit my peeps. :0)

If you’re wondering, Sandy painted the masterpiece. Check it out here. Wow.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2007 9:44 am

    Wow. Wow to all of it. I’m speechless. The talent in your family is overwhelming and you’re quite lucky to have such a good friend trade with you for artwork. What I wouldn’t give for that! Happy Mother’s Day to you!

  2. May 13, 2007 12:51 pm

    I’m going to agree with Jen here. Wow. Just Wow. That yarn is gorgeous, the painting is gorgeous. You are a lucky lucky woman.

  3. Kristy permalink
    May 14, 2007 10:35 am

    Wow! Truly some fairytale yarn. Lucky you!

  4. Sandy permalink
    May 14, 2007 1:14 pm

    I’m getting very jealous that you get to photograph yarn so often. I like when Reid gets me flowers for many reasons, one of them being that they take such beautiful Macro shots. I’m starting to wish I was a knitter for many reasons, the latest being that I would like to take daily photos like these…
    then I realize that I can just come here and have my fill!

  5. May 14, 2007 1:50 pm

    Scrumptious yarn, color me jealous!

Leave a Reply

