Skip to content

transatlantic knits

May 9, 2007

My friend Sandy is an artist, mother, wife and missionary (not necessarily in that order). In high school we were best buddies and have kept in sporadic touch for the last ten years. Sandy has been back in the States on furlough with her family for about a year and a half but they’re leaving on their next mission soon.

I have thought for a while that I would knit her something that she could take with her when she goes, but I never knew what it would be. She and her husband, along with their three little kiddos are headed to Tanzania – no need for sweaters, hats or mittens. There’s also not much room for anything big seeing as all of their worldly possessions will have to be packed up in suitcases or carry-ons for the transatlantic flight.

Then last week we discussed a swap of sorts – a piece of her artwork for something knitted by me. I finally decided on a little project that I know Sandy can pull off with great beauty (you enviable woman) – some head scarves.

for Sandy

For this first one, I cast on one stitch and increased at the edges until it was as big as I wanted. Then I cut the yarn and made an i-cord about 10″ long, attached it to the live stitches with an i-cord bind off (my new fave) then continued the i-cord until it was the same length as the other side. The yarn is Blue Sky Cotton and it is unbelievably soft. I think I used size 6 needles.

In progress - Sandy's Scarf

This one is on the needles now. I’m calling it a scarfette because maybe Sandy will be able to wrap it around her head or her neck, maybe even her waist. The yarn is Noro Silk Garden Lite color #2017 and I’m using the Little Arrowhead Lace stitch from Barbara Walker’s first Treasury (p. 193). I cast on 17 sts, knit garter stitch for a few rows and am working two repeats of the pattern with a 2 st garter border on either side. I’m using size 5 needles and it’s about 3″ wide.

In progress - Sandy's Scarf

I have an idea for another narrow scarf and some surprises for the kids.  Whatever I end up sending, it’s gotta be good because check out what she’s making for me.

So Sandy, what do you think?  Can you find a corner in your suitcase to stuff these in?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2007 11:33 am

    That is great–both your swap and hers! Not like you have extra time, but Calorimetry from Knitty sounds like it would be PERFECT for her too. Maybe something for later.

  2. Sandy permalink
    May 9, 2007 1:22 pm

    I love ALL of it, and these photos definitely put you up there, officially, with those other blogs I’ve mentioned of late. I really have been loving tuning in, in hopes of the random maggy or jerry shot, and getting so many fabulous colors and textures too! I can’t wait for this package to come, and now fear that MY half of the swap won’t be enough!!!!

    Well, I’ll send it matted too, and hope it still has legs to stand on…

    Yeah!!

  3. May 10, 2007 9:36 am

    Wow, what an appropriate swap. I love the artwork and the things you are making for her, too.

  4. May 10, 2007 1:06 pm

    What great presents! Well done.

  5. May 10, 2007 5:15 pm

    Indeed I enjoy in your knitting goods! You knit great things, every time when I drop by on your blog is something new! That is amazing! Nice hat and scarf !

  6. May 10, 2007 6:48 pm

    Mandy, you’ve been tagged. Read my blog to find out more…

  7. May 10, 2007 11:07 pm

    What a great swap. That Blue Sky Cotton is wonderful stuff, the head wrap is a great way to use, nice and close to the skin.

  8. May 12, 2007 1:14 am

    Wow. What a great art-swap. I need a friend like that to knit for. You lucky woman.
    That Lite Noro is lovely BTW.

Leave a Reply

