Skip to content

Is it gonna fit?

May 7, 2007

I need some quick help with my sockapalooza socks.  All the socks I’ve ever knit have not fit well, and I can’t allow that for my pal’s socks.  Here goes.

My guage with the yarn I’m using is 7.75 sts/inch.
My pal’s foot circumference is 9″ (don’t worry, it’s not you).
I cast on 64 sts for the cuff and leg, which gives me a finished measurement of 8.25″. (That is, 64 divided by 7.75 equals 8.25)

Are the socks going to be big enough?  Is an 8.25″ finished size big enough for a 9″ foot?  The pattern is stretchy because it’s ribbed so I feel like maybe possibly it will work, but I’m having doubts.  Any ideas (or encouragement!) would be greatly appreciated.  And if I have to unravel, I’d like to do it early in the game – but I am willing!  These socks must be perfect!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2007 11:04 am

    I think you’re going to be okay. My last sock was 7″ around the foot, and my foot is 8.25″ circumference… no problem, and I don’t think the pattern is as stretchy as that one.

  2. May 7, 2007 11:13 am

    I think you’ll probably be okay, since I find ribbing to be pretty forgiving. How did you measure your gauge–in stockinette stich or in the rib pattern? That could make a difference in the measurement. I would knit at least an inch of the sock and measure the knitting stretched out to get a better idea if it will be big enough. Another way to “test” if it will fit is to find something with a 9 inch circumference (like a bottle) and see how it fits over that. Good luck!

  3. May 7, 2007 12:54 pm

    Won’t the negative ease make it ok? Oh math, I won’t think about that today! 🙂 It will work out fine. Your color choice is going to look sweet with that pattern.

  4. Sockpal permalink
    May 7, 2007 1:24 pm

    sounds about right to me, I like my socks v. tight and knit with less stitches at a tighter gauge for my 9″ foot. You should be just fine.

  5. May 7, 2007 4:36 pm

    I think my foot is relatively narrow (I know it is not me), and I knit at a fairly tight gauge for my socks. I just got to the point this year that I was making socks that fit me the way I wanted them to (and it only took going down to size 0 needles). The rule of thumb I have read is that most socks should have between 0.5 and an inch of negative ease. You are right within that, so you should be fine!

  6. May 7, 2007 6:41 pm

    I agree with the previous posters, you should be fine. I think that if you actually knit it at 9″ it would be too big.

  7. May 7, 2007 10:58 pm

    Sounds perfect to me. My foot is 9″ and 8.25″ – 8.5″ is what I use for my socks depending on the stretchiness of the pattern. Am I your sock pal? I can hope, can’t I?

  8. May 8, 2007 1:28 am

    I think you’ll be fine too. Small is usually better than big with socks. The pattern stretches, and the wool will stretch too.

  9. linda permalink
    May 14, 2007 2:07 pm

    Please don’t think that we are all expecting the “perfect” sock. Its about having a little fun…..

  10. May 14, 2007 2:50 pm

    I aim at about 10% negative ease for stockinette socks, so you should be more than fine, depending on how you’re measuring gauge.

  11. May 14, 2007 3:31 pm

    Thank goodness for ribbing. It should save your bacon, er, knitting!

Leave a Reply

