Skip to content

February Baby Sweater.

April 12, 2007

February Baby Sweater

Turns out that I didn’t fix any of the mistakes because it looked so darn cute once she tried it on. I still haven’t blocked it, which is terrible since it will probably look much better after I do. Unfortunately I’ve lost motivation to do another photoshoot – the model is impossible to work with. Fun, but impossible.

Pattern: February Baby Sweater from Knitter’s Almanac by Elizabeth Zimmermann.
Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, color CW220 (provincial rose), about 1.5 skeins.
Needles: US 6, the needle saga is here.
Guage: 5 sts/inch
Finished width lying flat with buttons closed: 12.5″.
Start: March 30, 2007.
Finish: April 6, 2007.

I didn’t make any intentional modifications. I made mistakes – errare humanum est – but I forgave myself. First, I did too many garter stitch ridges for the yoke. I think that this makes it a little lumpy around the bottom section of the yoke, but maybe when I get around to blocking the lumpiness will even out.

Second, I left out a whole seven stitch repeat on one of the sleeves. I guess what happened was that instead of casting on 14 new stitches when beginning the sleeve, I only cast on seven. I have no idea how I didn’t notice the error sooner.

sun-hair.jpg

The buttons are vintage and if tapping them on my teeth is any indication, they are glass. I think they came from an estate auction in a box that contained an array of embroidered handkerchiefs, linens, towels, and men’s dress shirts. Most of the items from that box ended up to be trash but the few cards of vintage buttons made it a good buy.

I know some people say that they don’t like the look of garter stitch – in fact, I used to say that myself – but it’s really growing on me. It’s the simplest stitch in all of knitting, yet it can be quite beautiful and interesting.

all-done.jpg

Final verdict on this pattern – a big thumbs up. I will try it again and hopefully make fewer errors. I think I might even use the same yarn again because it was very yummy to work with.

Lastly, I’ll leave you with photographic evidence that toddler models can have a bad attitude.

no-more-pictures-mom.jpg

See? Impossible.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2007 9:02 am

    I love the sweater! Only you will ever notice or know about the “mistakes.” Your model is truly adorable…I love the final shot!

  2. April 12, 2007 9:23 am

    She’s such a cutie, and your sweater is wonderful! I recently purchased the Almanac for that very pattern… maybe I’ll try your yarn choice. Well done!

  3. April 12, 2007 10:07 am

    GORGEOUS! You did a *fantastic* job and it looks soooo sweet on her. The glass buttons are a perfect finishing touch. [I think you need to save the bad attitude picture to show at her wedding some day – it’s hilarious! Love the attitude.]

  4. April 12, 2007 10:14 am

    Aaaah. love it! Especially that last photo. I’ll be making this one for sure….

  5. April 12, 2007 11:13 am

    Another gorgeous knit on your beautiful girl! I love it. I’ll have to get that Knitter’s Almanac now (what is it about your versions of these sweaters that make me buy EZ’s books?).

  6. April 12, 2007 11:15 am

    I love it! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one of these modeled, so many thanks.

    The ornery photo is priceless!

  7. April 12, 2007 11:58 am

    Oh thanks for the *great* photos of your sweater and model. She’ll love you for that one when she’s 13, for sure.

  8. April 12, 2007 12:05 pm

    It’s beautiful! And so is the sweater *grin*. The color is so pretty, I love it.

  9. Sarah permalink
    April 12, 2007 12:15 pm

    Also, big kudos for using the latin.

  10. April 12, 2007 1:18 pm

    So cute! It must have been quite a trick getting all those cute pictures, but I love the last one. I see a similar face around my house a lot lately.

  11. April 12, 2007 1:50 pm

    A lovely sweater for a lovely little girl. What fun!

  12. April 12, 2007 6:00 pm

    That last picture is truly hilarious. The model is gorgeous and the sweater obviously a success – no matter the mistakes.

  13. April 13, 2007 12:19 am

    Although you list all the mistakes you made on this sweater, all one can see is a beautifully knitted sweater on a cute little thing. You’ve been knitting for not that long, but you are making gorgeous things that keep your children warm very stylishly. I enjoy reading about your projects!

  14. April 13, 2007 2:21 am

    She is absolutely adorable even with a ‘tude! Mistake, what mistake?

  15. Stephanie Jean-Louis permalink
    April 13, 2007 12:33 pm

    Hi, I came over via the Zimmermaniacs . . . I am finally ready to start a February sweater but have no idea how much yarn to purchase. The Cotton Fleece sounds lovely – how many skeins did it take? BTW, your choice is perfect for your darling little girl!

  16. April 13, 2007 3:19 pm

    Your daughter and her FBS are both lovely, and you’ve got a good sense of humor posting that pic of the model who’s lost her patience with the photo shoot.

  17. caroline beckenhaupt permalink
    April 13, 2007 6:07 pm

    mandy,

    your model is delectable and the sweater is lovely! i wouldn’t change a thing about either. πŸ™‚

  18. April 14, 2007 3:10 am

    I have *got* to make that sweater for my baby girl! I’ve started once and ripped out. That seems to be the trend around here. Plus it will take me 20 times as long to get mine done. But the end result will be worth it, I think.

  19. Sandy permalink
    April 14, 2007 11:20 am

    18 comments! Wow!!!

    I love that last shot of a surly sweater model.

    I also wanted to tell you that Reid found a T-shirt on Cafe Press the other day that I wanted to buy for you. It says: “I MAKE MILK! (What’s YOUR superpower?”)

    Isn’t that awesome?
    Cheers,
    S.

  20. April 16, 2007 1:10 am

    Wowzie-Kazowie! What a cute model and sweater! I hear that models can get a bit surly from just eating lettuce leaves, smoking cigs, and drinking champagne. What’s your model’s excuse πŸ˜‰ ?! I’m glad you left the boo-boo in the sweater, it’s what makes handknitting real.

  21. April 16, 2007 4:36 pm

    Very cute!

  22. April 17, 2007 2:45 pm

    Oh my gosh, sooooooooo cute! And what a pretty little darling to wear it! πŸ™‚

  23. April 18, 2007 4:33 am

    Your little one is such a cutie! The sweater is just perfect on her. πŸ™‚

  24. August 11, 2007 7:25 pm

    Gorgeous sweater on a gorgeous girl.

Leave a Reply

