Skip to content

coming undone

April 6, 2007

I thought for a moment this morning that I’d soon be blocking the February Baby Sweater.  It’s so purty…

pretty-sweater-not-done.jpg

…except for one small detail…

bad-sleeves.jpg

… a bad sleeve.

I only just noticed, after seaming AND sewing the ends in, that one sleeve is missing an entire repeat of the lace pattern.  I can’t believe that it took me this long to notice the mistake.

So – I can unravel the whole thing and fix the yoke while I’m at it.  Or I can try it on Maggie when she gets home (she’s at an Easter Egg Hunt with her brother and grandparents) and see if I can live with it.  Right now I’m leaning towards unravelling.

The problem with the yoke is that I did, like, six more garter ridges than I was supposed to.  It doesn’t seem like that would be a big deal, but it’s more bumpy there than it should be.  I thought about cutting the yarn, taking out the extra ridges, and weaving it all back together, but that would cause more problems – most notably the resulting misplacement of buttonholes.

Here I am, faced with a mini dilemma.  The product knitter in me wants a wee sweater that Mag can wear for at least a few more weeks of Spring.  The process knitter wouldn’t mind knitting the whole shebang over again because let’s face it, this pattern is hella fun.

And just for Sandy (and here), a kid pic.

Maggie doing her new thing (in her new, made by mommy dress): the funny face.

funny-face.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Nella permalink
    April 6, 2007 12:05 pm

    “Momma, turn her on. Heh heh. Is she smilin’? Ha. Ahaha. Hi! What’s her name? Her name is Maaaaaaggggiie.”

  2. April 6, 2007 2:11 pm

    I am adorable baby, hear me roar! I hear you on the ripping back. Zactly what I kept thinking about the summer toddler dress. Now it’s sitting at the bottom of my knitting trunk, under cones of cotton. ack.

  3. April 6, 2007 2:26 pm

    rocket says”bubbie walk maggie in buggy!”
    that dress is wonderful. do you k wnow if that pattern is also in big girl size. ella would Lllllooooooooovvveeeeeeee that dress.

  4. April 6, 2007 3:15 pm

    If you left it as is, no one but you would notice. In fact, the baby is so darn cute, they might not even notice the sweater at all!

    Great job, whatever you decide!

  5. April 6, 2007 8:11 pm

    She is too cute! I don’t even notice the bad sleeve. Where?

  6. April 9, 2007 1:47 am

    Oh dear, I would just leave it! But I know that can be a bothersome sort of thing to do. It looks so gorgeous as it is!

    Cute dress and a cute funny face!

  7. April 12, 2007 10:40 am

    Simply charming! You’ve inspired me to flee my computer and go dig up my dusty copy of EZ’s little tome. There are cold grandchildren in need!

Leave a Reply

