Skip to content

superhero power

April 3, 2007

Jerry is always asking me what my superhero power is.  Usually I say that I have the ability to control the world with my knitting needles.  Or that I can knit lightning fast.   His is usually that he can travel at the speed of light or that he has x-ray vision.

After what happened this weekend, I think that I really do have a superhero power: The power to get my husband to think like a Knitter.

See, we were in the car on our way to visit my family in South Carolina.  Since it’s a three hour drive I had the appropriate knitting project in hand – a spring sweater for Maggie.  More specifically it was the February Baby Sweater or a Baby Sweater on Two Needles; Practically Seamless from EZ’s Knitter’s Almanac (beautiful example, by Elliphantom, here).  I was working on the yoke, increasing every four ridges, and I had about 150 stitches on the needles.

It is important to note here that I was using Daisy Needles, size US 6.  I have an unfortunate lack of size 6 needles in my collection, so these were the only ones I had to use.  One hundred fifty is a lot of stitches to have on 8″, plastic, somewhat flexible needles but I was making it work.

I was getting excited because I was just about to start the lace pattern.  All the knitting was making the car ride fly by.  The mother-in-law was in the back seat entertaining the children, and I was madly knitting my time away.  It was nice.

I finished a row, switched the needle with all the stitches to my left hand, was about to examine my lovely work, when my thumb hit the tip of the needle and snapped it off.  There could be no knitting with a tip-less needle.  I was furious.  I couldn’t speak.  Sure I had another knitting project, but I wanted to work on the baby sweater.  I think flames were coming out of my ears I was so mad.

Suddenly, Gerald said the weirdest thing.  “We could stop at the mall up ahead and see if they have a craft store.  You could buy a new pair of needles.”

“No, no, no,” I replied.  “I’ll be fine.  I was just really enjoying working on this sweater.”

Silence.

“I think, actually, that I remember that there is a craft store in the mall.  Maybe it’s a Michael’s.”  I was rationalizing.  “I kinda have to use the restroom.  Does anyone else need to go to the bathroom?”

As it turns out, we did stop at the mall, and after a bit of random searching we actually found a craft store.  I bought an aluminum circular needle (which brings my tally of size 6, 29″ aluminum circular needles to three – oops)  and a pair of bamboo straights.  I wanted to take pictures – of the broken needle in the car, the craft store, the mall – but honestly I was so embarassed to be such an inconvenience that I just rushed in and out as fast as I could, trying to keep the pit stop short.

And later, even as I was getting a little car sick, I just kept knitting because for goodness sakes after all that trouble I had to knit.

None of this would have happened if Gerald had not felt my pain and suggested the idea.  Maybe he didn’t want to ride with a grumpy knitter.  Or maybe, just maybe, my superhero power is actually working.  He’s beginning to think like a Knitter.

February Baby Sweater - EZ

That’s where I am now with the sweater.  Interestingly, the yoke is too long, the sleeves are too short and I should probably rip it back to the beginning.  But that is a story for another day.

What’s your superhero power? 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2007 10:19 am

    Amazingly enough, it involves size 6 aluminum circs! My superpower is the ability to twist stitches. I started the Wallaby and had knit about 1 1/2 inches of ribbing before realizing they were twisted. I am seriously bummed.

    The color is great on that sweater. Just rip the sleeves back.

    You definately do have the super-fast knitting skills!

  2. April 3, 2007 9:10 pm

    I came over from Zimmermania and looked around. I can’t belive you’ve just been knitting since 2005. So many wonderful finished projects! And lovely pictures too.

  3. April 4, 2007 11:44 am

    Wow, I was marveling at your superpower ability to knit in the car without getting carsick. Until I read that you were getting a little carsick. 🙂 What a thoughtful husband. Just makes me smile. another convert.

  4. April 4, 2007 8:03 pm

    Great power turning your Muggle into a Knitter!

    My superpower would be to understand and speak every language in the world – I would love to have that power.

  5. Penny Ormsbee permalink
    December 19, 2007 8:27 am

    I’m sure you’re extremely busy, but I’ve exhausted my resources and am stuck on EZs February Sweater. Her instructions are so vague…

    Her pattern reads:

    At 4 1/2″, work 25 sts, then work back-and-forth on the next 28sts (plus 7 sis cast on at each end of them; 42 sis in all)…

    Does this mean that my sleeve will consist of 28 sts – plus I cast on 7 new sts at each end?

    I’m also trying to envision how this sews up. I guess it will make sense along the way…

    Thanks so much.

    Happy Holidays

    Penny Ormsbee (from snowy Halifax, Nova Scotia)

Trackbacks

  1. February Baby Sweater. « Zigzag Stitch

Leave a Reply

