Skip to content

quilts

February 10, 2007

There used to exist a very long post about sewing versus knitting. I discussed the issue at length (ad nauseum??), and there were pictures! It does not fit into the schedule of this Mommy to be composing blog posts doubly on account of my computer acting like crap. Therefore, I will leave you with just some pictures of quilts (term used loosely) that I have made for my bubbas over the years. I love them all for various reasons, but I can’t say for sure that they’re all very pretty. You can decide for yourself.

year-one-quilt.JPG
Jerry’s first quilt. 2002.

back-of-jerry1.JPG
The back of Jerry’s first quilt. 2002.

scooby.JPG
Jerry’s fourth quilt. 2007.

maggie-front.JPG
Maggie’s first quilt. 2005.

dino-quilt.JPG
The very busy dino quilt. Jerry’s third. 2005.

More pictures and more notes can be found on my flickr page.

In knitting news, Maggie’s Wallaby is finished. I need to get a good picture, then I’ll tell you ALL about it.  If you look closely at my flickr pictures, you might get a peek of that Wallaby!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2007 12:26 pm

    Wow! Those are all wonderful!! I have become obsessed with quilts, but haven’t made a single one. I keep checking out quilt books from the library (and have bought a couple as well), and dreaming of ones I want to make. Your lovely quilts are fueling my obsession. Perhaps one of these days I’ll actually try making one….

  2. February 11, 2007 2:59 pm

    i LOVE the back of jerry’s first quilt. its so simple and the colors work well together. it reminds me of the denyse schemidt style of modern quilting…

  3. February 11, 2007 8:05 pm

    You are such a talented person. I really like all the quilts and I think what I like most about them is that they are each different. You obviously are not afraid to try new things and what a great asset to further your creativity!

  4. February 12, 2007 1:29 am

    I love quilts – I’ve been a quilter for 15 years but it seems to have fallen by the wayside since I started knitting. Your quilts are wonderful!

  5. February 12, 2007 11:37 am

    Hi Mandy, Thanks for your comment on my blog. I can’t believe I didn’t write where that dress pattern was from. Off to edit that! It’s from “The Yarn Girls’ Guide to Knits for Older Kids”, which has a few things in it I think I will make for my kids in coming years, but as the title says, it’s for 4-10 year olds, so the dress pattern will have to be altered for my almost 2yo. No big deal, I hope…

  6. February 14, 2007 3:22 pm

    Quilts too!! When do you sleep! They are just beautiful. Your children will always love them.

  7. Sarah permalink
    February 14, 2007 7:13 pm

    I sneaked over to your flickr page – that wallaby rules! When you knit her a dressy sweater, let me know so I can send you lace for it.

  8. February 16, 2007 8:57 am

    oh i have a mandy quilt! they are truly beautiful. and i love ours very much.

  9. February 16, 2007 4:15 pm

    This is great! I like it very much !

  10. February 17, 2007 10:33 am

    I am SO in love with the first quilt photograped. For some reason it reminds me of sailing or ship flags. I am quite envious of your skills with a sewing machine and with actual quilting. Jealous, I say. Jealous.

Leave a Reply

