Skip to content

two thousand what?

January 30, 2007

I knit a message into Jerry’s Pirate Sweater.  Besides all that trouble with the provisional cast-on, this had me more puzzled than any other part of the sweater.  I am not really sure how I exactly figured out which way to align the message, but it worked the way I wanted it to.  When Jerry is wearing the sweater and pulls up the hem to read it, it’s right side up to him.

inside-the-hem.JPG

What does it say?  Two thousand what?  The 7 is off.  I mean, it barely looks like a seven.  Hopefully when I look at it years from now I will remember this wonkiness that occurred and remember it was 2007.  Yeah right.  This is probably my favorite part of the sweater because it’s just for me and Jerry to know about.  Like a secret I love you code.

In other news, I have been on a hunt.  I looked all around town to find the Wonderful Wallaby pattern, with absolutely no luck.  I even visited two yarn stores that I hadn’t realized were so close, and discovered a few more that are within reasonable driving distance.  I called all of them, and only one had any Cottage Creations patterns (but no Wallaby).  So I ordered the pattern online (free US shipping dudettes! – on ALL orders) and it came yesterday.  I can’t wait to get started.

wooly-sock.JPG

But first I’m trying to make myself a pair of woolly socks.  I can’t stand it that I have no woolly socks to put on when I leave the house, and I’m too much of a ninny to actually finish any of the socks I have started using fingering weight yarn.  So I’m using worsted weight.  Last night I made half a sock.  We’ll see if I can actually finish some socks before I cast on for a Wallaby.  We’ll see.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2007 5:13 pm

    Will you bring to storytime??? I PROMISE to give it back 🙂 before leaving the library!

    You certainly have a love/hate relationship with socks! Love the yarn, hate the knitting of them, socks that is.

    The inside of the sweater looks great. I’m sure the “7” will look like a seven years from now….

  2. January 30, 2007 6:31 pm

    Well, it doesn’t look like a “1” so I’m sure you’ll remember it’s a “7”. It’s just barely not a “7” actually, from the looks of the photo. I heart the Wallaby and have made too many to count..even one for myself. Have fun!

  3. January 31, 2007 9:47 am

    oh that is so cute and wleat a special for you and jerry. I love the pirate theme. I think i need to get brave and try two color knittting cuz the rocket mann needs some pirate things. Love the wallaby pattert. i am going to search it out. Chris would die for one of those.

  4. January 31, 2007 10:54 am

    Wallabeeeeeeee! Yay! Send people to the flickr group! 18 members and counting!

    http://flickr.com/groups/wallaby/

Leave a Reply

