Skip to content

Not an unvention, but a pretty good idea.

January 22, 2007

I was working on the Jerry’s pirate sweater this morning.  I was getting really close to the point where EZ says something like, once you have finished 10 rows of this… and since my guage and size and everything are different I knew I had some extra thinking to do.  Ten rows on this sweater does not equal ten rows on EZ’s sweater.

I pulled out my notebook and a pencil and made some fuzzy calculations.  At one point my calculations told me there would be about 40 stitches for the neck opening.  Knowing what I know about Jerry’s head, this sounded grim indeed.

My head was dizzy trying to figure how I was going to make the neck big enough for my Jerry’s head while keeping the integrity of the design intact.

And here comes the great idea.  It wasn’t my idea.  Nor was I unventing something.  In fact, this solution probably happens hundreds of times a day in the homes of knitters everywhere.  “Of course,” I said.  “I’ll just have him try it on.”

trying-it-on.JPG

I used some scrap yarn to hold the stitches, removed the needle, and put it over Jerry’s head.  I was delighted to find that things were coming together very nicely.  I did some figuring in my head, got those stitches back on the needles, and soldiered on.

Let me just say, I’ve finished knitting the sweater and it fits over his head!  Whatever I did, it worked.  I did not call anyone on the telephone to report the good news, but I was tempted.

So the knitting is finished, but the pirate sweater still requires at least a few more hours of my attention.  There are ends to weave in, hems to sew down, and holes to eliminate (most notably, the underarm holes).  I look forward to two faves coming on the boob tube tonight, Prison Break and Heroes, to give me some good quality finishing time.  Hopefully by tomorrow night I’ll be all done so I can give my full attention to my absolute favorite: VERONICA MARS.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2007 10:36 am

    Tonight’s the night–Veronica Mars! I’ll be working on my Noro Aurora Multidirectional Scarf…and icing my knees!

    That sweater looks great. Way too take control of the situation! (Cute pirates, too.) I just recently was given a copy of the EZ book and read all her lovely writing about knitting in general and a lot of the directions about making sweaters–just because it felt like she was a nice friend giving me great knitting advice. I always expected her to be sort of an ass since she was known as the “curmudgeonly knitter” and so I avoided her like the plague. Silly me. But know maybe I’ll knit myself a sweater from her book?

  2. January 24, 2007 11:28 am

    You find a great solution. My compliment on this work! i hope that you shall put pictures of entire sweater !

  3. January 24, 2007 12:45 pm

    Yup, I’ve had that simple revelation – more than once. The sweater looks very promising, will we see a finished photo?

Leave a Reply

