Skip to content

there are projects

January 17, 2007

Thanks to everyone for all the very kind feedback about Maggie’s tomten!  I’m blushing, really.  Yesterday the temperature dropped, so a knitted sweater with hood was absolutely necessary attire.   Yesterday Maggie wore her new sweater to the library and a librarian knew right away that it was knitted.

Then today at the bank the teller said, “What a cute jacket.”  And I said, “Thanks.”  I refrained from saying, “I made it” like I usually do.

THEN at Walmart today the woman who checked us out said, “Who’s the knitter?”  We all were wearing knitted items; I had on my fake isle hat, Jerry had on his Giants hat, and the Mag had on the tomten.  When I explained that I indeed had made all the knitwear she said, “Well, I knew that sweater looked homemade, then I noticed the hats.”  She said her sister knits, but she can’t seem to get past the cast-on.  It would have been nice if she had said lovingly hand knit rather than homemade, but who cares.  It is still nice to be noticed!

jerrys-pirate-sweater.JPG

This is what I’m working on now.  It’s a sweater for Jerry using part of the skull chart from this pattern.  For some reason I always feel that once I’m finished knitting something for one of my children, I need to immediately start thinking of a project for the other.  So they don’t feel like I’m neglecting them.  It’s kind of silly, especially since Gerald has been asking for an afghan for about two years now.  He’s the one I’m neglecting on the knitting front.

I’m knitting along with the others over here, and since it’s a seamless sweater, it’ll be also be good here.   I have not yet decided for sure if it’s going to be saddle shouldered, hybrid, or raglan.  I’m leaning toward saddle shouldered.  I’ve done the raglan, so I should try something new, right?

I’ve also got this Jaywalker on the needles:

jaywalker2.JPG

It’s ridiculous actually, because I think I have at least three other unfinished sock projects going.  I have no excuse.  I love sock yarn but I’m really not that into knitting socks.

Also, I need to sew more diapers for the Maggie because she’s growing out of her current stash.  Yesterday I straightened up my sewing table, which actually looks more like a yarn table.  Today I’ve been trying to cut some fabric, but I’d rather spend my few leisure moments of the day knitting.  The child can’t run around here naked, so I’d better just take a few days off knitting and get them diapers sewn already!

Knowing that I am not going to take a knitting break, I’ve decided that the plan will be to sew diapers during the day (children awake), knit at night (children mostly asleep).  Let us see if that works….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2007 1:44 pm

    Hello! I got here from both Zimmermania and the Pirates KAL. I must say your Knitting is beautiful. I want to go make a Tomten RIGHT NOW. Are you making your son’s pirates sweater using the EZ percentages? I’ve had problems translating them down to kid’s size… like a sweater for my 4 YO fits me…. If you have any advice or input I’d really appreciate it!

  2. January 19, 2007 12:32 am

    I think you should try something new, do the saddles! It’s looking great so far.

    I love your jaywalkers. I haven’t knit a pair of these yet. I should knit a pair.

  3. January 23, 2007 10:31 am

    Wowzers! That colorway looks great for those jaywalkers socks! Makes me want to go to a tropical island.

  4. July 29, 2007 7:35 pm

    I love your tomten sweater! The colours and all the garter stitch is so beutiful…. Also the big button. I to want to make one right now for my 3 year old 🙂

    I have “knitting without tears”, but didnt think the tomten sweater was anything for me – untill I saw yours!

Leave a Reply

