Skip to content

superfancy potholder loop rug

January 3, 2007

I did not knit this, but my nine-year old niece did!

sophies-rug.JPG

If you’ve seen the picture in the book, it looks nearly exactly the same.  Just a little more wonky.  But in a good way.  Oh, and if you have no idea what I’m talking about, it’s the pattern for the “Superfancy Potholder Loop Rug” in the book Mason-Dixon Knitting from the bloggers Kay Gardiner and Ann Shayne.  I have the book out from the library (of course) and I wish I owned it.  Every time I flip through it I want to cast on the baby kimono or the bib or a dishcloth or….. everything.

My neice is nine and made this rug for Sean Bhean*.  She used the potholder loops and size 35 circular needles.  Isn’t it awesome?  It’s about an inch thick and kinda slippery.  I was surprised the kids didn’t figure out some type of sliding game with it.  The Mag knew it was slippery because she kept falling down while trying to stand up at the sliding (pun?) glass door, her feet slowly sliding out from under her.

*Sean Bhean.  Pronounced Shan-Van.  Or Fan-Fan if you’re learning to talk.  Means “old lady” in Irish, or so I’m told.  My mother-in-law gave herself this name (though I suspect it is probably common in Ireland) when her first grandchild was born and “grandma” and “gram” were already in use by other grandmothers.  On this blog, Sean Bhean is also known as “Noreen,” “mother-in-law,” or “the most appreciative recipient of hand-knits EVER.” 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2007 3:59 pm

    AWESOME!!!! It makes me want to go to Hobby Lobby tonight and get some loops. Joe has been asking to learn to knit, so maybe this is the project??? So cool. Good job to your neice and lucky duck to Sean Bhean.

  2. February 20, 2007 10:52 am

    I like the MDK book a lot, too. I finally bought it (from Overstock) a few months ago and have already made two of the kimonos, which are awesome!

    Your niece ought to be very proud of her rug! I’m really impressed.

  3. August 2, 2008 3:51 pm

    I was just Googling this “pattern” and found your blog. I am just wondering how many bags of loops it took. According to the book it could take $20 and on the website they recommend (Harrisville Looms) a bag costs $19.95. I am trying to figure out if this is really a $400 rug.

Leave a Reply

