Skip to content

Let’s Talk Holiday Knits

December 31, 2006

You know, I knit a lot.  But with these crazy kids in the house, blogging about knitting has taken a back seat to actual knitting.  Let me catch you up a bit.

Spooky Cabled Armwarmers

pair.JPG

Pattern: Spooky Cabled Armwarmers.  Free Online!  From Jen @ 144 Inches of I-cord (pdf pattern)
Started: Nov. 8, 2006
Finished: Nov. 16, 2006
Needles: US 4, bamboo dpn’s
Yarn: Creme from Crystal Palace Yarns – color 2013 (magenta)

I made these armwarmers for my sister-in-law.  She is having her 5th baby in a few months (the oldest is just nine!), and she deserves something a little luxurious.  The yarn is a blend of wool and silk so I think the armwarmers qualify.

Last year I made her a giant felted bag that she uses all the time and gets lots of comments on, so I wanted to try to live up to the fabulousness of that.  She seemed to like them, but only time will tell if they get as much use as the bag.  Is it polite to ask the next time I see her, “How many times per week do you wear your armwarmers?”  Not that it matters.  Even if she doesn’t wear them a lot, she is a knitter herself and will appreciate the handiwork of them.

The best part of this project (besides the wonderfully written, awesome pattern – Thanks Jen!) was that I learned how to cable without a cable needle.  Fun stuff, I tell you.

Christmas Rose Gift Bag
from Handknit Holidays

finished2.JPG

Pattern: Christmas Rose Gift Bag, from Handknit Holidays by Melanie Falick.  I made the smaller version.
Started: Nov. 7, 2006
Finished: Nov. 11, 2006
Needles: US 7, 16″ circular bamboo (US 6 for i-cord)
Yarn: I used some Lamb’s Pride Worsted from my stash.  The purple was used to make The Little Purple Cape and the heather gray was used to make felted slippers for Gerald.

This bag was a gift for my neice.  She’s nine, and will hopefully find many many uses for it.  I found some fancy cotton fabric at the fancy quilt store and made a lining for it.  The yarn colors don’t have much contrast, but I decided to knit it up anyway, and I love the result.  The bag is downright pretty.  I did not really want to give it away.  But like her mother, my neice is very appreciative of handknit things, as she is a knitter herself.

Is that corrugated ribbing?  K2 MC, P2 CC??  If it is, then now I know how to do corrugated ribbing.  It was very awkward at first, purling with the CC yarn in my left hand, but after a few rounds I got it under control, and I really like the effect.

When this first came off the needles it looked pretty sad.  Blocking cures many wonky things with stranded colorwork!

So, speaking of crazy kids, they are awake now.  I must see what Maggie is doing in the kitchen.  Sounds like she found some cans of tuna fish or something.  I hope she doesn’t find the can opener.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 8, 2007 10:00 pm

    Thanks for your comment the other day. I really like the armwarmers. I had not seen that pattern before. It is one that I want to try.

    You really do pretty color work.

Leave a Reply

