Skip to content

itty bitty sweater

December 29, 2006

finished1.JPG

I made this tiny sweater for a baby that I thought would be the newest member of my extended family.  Turns out that adoption is tough and things don’t always turn out the way you expect.  Last week I was too sad to tell you about it, but now I’m hoping that good news isn’t too far around the corner.  I’m also hoping that all the sadness and confusion and frustration felt by the would-be parents will melt away and help them when it comes time to bring a baby home for good.

Started: Dec. 20
Finished: Dec. 21
Pattern: I followed the principles of Elizabeth Zimmermann’s seamless raglan from Knitting Without Tears, which I have (continuously) on loan from the library.
Yarn: Paton’s Classic Merino Wool, in colors that I call brown and teal (I’m so terrible about ball bands – they exist in my home, but where????)
Needles: US 5, circular.  Also a US 4 for the collar and button band.

Other stuff:
The colors really look more like this:

true-colors.JPG

This itty bitty sweater was cast on and knit with so much happiness.  I was just finishing up the button band when I heard that there would probably be no baby.  I finished the sweater anyway,  but each stitch was completed with great sadness.

Right now the sweater is just sitting, unfolded, in my knitting basket.  I won’t ever give it away.  There’s too much story behind it.  I think I might donate it somewhere locally where a newborn could use it for a few weeks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2006 1:44 pm

    It is a beauty of a sweater. I know the right place for the sweater will make itself known.

    Do you have any leftover yarn so you can make her a shawl? Something she can wrap herself up in….

  2. December 29, 2006 9:32 pm

    I love it, and the “right” baby will come along soon. Adoption is heart-wrenching!

  3. December 29, 2006 11:30 pm

    Sorry to hear the sad new about the adoption! You really did a great job with the sweater. I would keep it for now, who knows something may change and another baby may be around the corner.

Trackbacks

  1. a very special baby surprise « Zigzag Stitch

Leave a Reply

