Skip to content

Picked from under a cabbage leaf in the morning dew.

November 27, 2006

whole-shebang.JPG

I have made a new hat and I have taken it’s picture with my new camera.

Pattern: Fake Isle Hat by Amy King, MagKnits (Nov 06)
Yarn: Noro Kureyon and Lamb’s Pride Worsted.  The exact colors are not known and I will explain why in a moment.
Needles: US 5 – 16″ circ bamboo; DPN’s in size US 4 because my 5’s were otherwise occupied.
Start: November 18, 2006
Finish: Like, 5 minutes later.  Okay, not that quick, but I finished on Nov. 20th and if I had all the time in the world, I would have knit this hat from beginning to end without stopping.

inside.JPG

This was one of those projects where everything fell into place so nicely.  There I was, leisurely strolling through blogland when I came upon this post from Mary Beth.  It wasn’t five minutes later that I was out the door to my lys to find the perfect shade of Noro to match some of my leftover stash of Lamb’s Pride.  Incredibly impulsive, but I had to have that hat.

The reason I don’t have the Noro ball band is because I ripped it off in a fury to cast on and I have no idea where it landed.  It’s somewhere.  I’ll find it eventually.  The Lamb’s Pride has been in the stash for a while, so even though I probably have the ballband, it’s hidden very well.

I am completely in love with this hat.  I  can’t even tell you.  The colors make me giddy.  When I showed it to my mother-in-law she said (or more accurately, squealed), “Oooo, it looks like something I just came upon in the morning dew!  Under a cabbage leaf!”  She couldn’t be more right.

top1.JPG

I added a mini i-cord at the top, because I’m so cool.  I also decreased more quickly than the pattern says to.  If I make this again (which I am bound to do eventually) I’ll probably do the decreases like the pattern says, just for the heck of it.  I will also use a smaller needle for the ribbing, or use fewer stitches, because it flares a little out and I think I’d like it a little snugglier around my ears.

Ah.  I wish it would get colder here in North Carolina so I could wear it continuously.  It really looks good on me.  Seriously.

inside-top.JPG

7 Comments leave one →
  1. tracy permalink
    November 27, 2006 8:30 pm

    hey mandy,
    i want to make more hats. i made two last year, but they weren’t the greatest and alas it’s snowing here and i don’t have a proper hat to wear. the two sizes of needles i have to make hats are 8 and 15 (i can’t afford to buy anymore needles at this point.) knitting in the round is cool and i want to do more with it. any simple/beginning patterns for me? also, one of my biggest problems with the hats last year was not measuring the heads i was making them for…so i know that i have to like measure the person’s head and then how do i translate it to the pattern that i use? email me (metta1313@msn.com) and let me know as it’s cold and snowy in the pacific northwest and i’m going to chicago for new years and need to make a new warm hat for me and a new warm hat for jason. i’m done student teaching so i have more time for knitting…perhaps i will finish the scarf i began in the summer that i wanted to have done by now. how does this always happen to me.

    -tracy

  2. November 27, 2006 9:05 pm

    it is sooo cool! i am totaly jealous. amazingly it has been cold enough for hats here tha last week so i may give it a try. That Noreen has the best thoughts.
    oh and rocket now comes ans asks to see the mags photos. too cute
    miss ya
    mandy

  3. November 29, 2006 8:47 am

    That looks SO great!! I love that pattern, but you chose such great colors for it!

  4. November 29, 2006 3:33 pm

    this is eighteen kinds of gorgeous. i’ll have to get that pattern and figure out how to make something nearly as nice as yours! great colors. it looks so warm. maybe you could find a walk-in freezer to test it out in? good luck with that.

  5. December 4, 2006 4:09 pm

    I haven’t checked out the knitting blog in a while – that hat is awesome! The colors are PERFECT together! It’s definitely something I’d pay a lot of money for in a cool, handmade-type shop. Build an inventory! Start making money! We want to buy your fantastic creations!

  6. MB Birn permalink
    December 28, 2006 12:20 pm

    Your posting inspired me to make my own Fake Isle hat, and it was the MOST satisfying project I have ever knit. I made mine from Noro and some baby alpaca. The colors glowed. Thank you for the inspriation.

  7. January 16, 2007 5:45 pm

    Man, what is it about seeing something on someone elses blog that immediately makes you want to cast on for your own?!
    Now where’s my Noro…….

Leave a Reply

