Skip to content

a new hat. finally.

November 21, 2006

This was exactly the kinda hat I was looking to make for the Mag.

swinging-mag.jpg

Pattern: Baby Hat – pixie hat to knit, Crystal Palace Yarns (free online)
Yarn: Dale of Norway Falk in a beautiful soft lavendar color (likely color #5224 but the ballband is not easily accesible at this moment).
Needles: Probably US 3, but I’d have to look it up in my knitting notebook (the squirmy baby on my lap is why I’m trying to finish this up quickly)
Guage:  The Horrors!  I didn’t check!  It’s very stretchy.
Mods:  I didn’t do the strap like the pattern said, but I make a short i-cord tie with a button hole.

I need to block it/wash it, but it’s been on the head nearly every time we’ve been outside since it’s completion, so there hasn’t been time.  It’s machine washable, but I’m not sure I just want to throw it right in the wash.

This hat has a pointy top, which to me is the most adorable, delicious thing in the whole world.  I can’t get enough of it.  It’s so dang cute.  Also it is very stretchy and fits Jerry so I assume it’ll be around for a while getting lots of winter use.  The i-cord strap goes under her chin and is secured with a cute little green button on one side.  She still can pull it off easily, but she keeps it on for good long stretches.

I saw this hat at the blog Knitting Iris via the October Gallery for Tie One On.  I knew when I saw the hat that I had to make it immediately.  And I did.

mag-in-hat.jpg

Ah!  The wonder of babies!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2006 6:51 pm

    The wonders of babies in adorable handknits! It looks great.

  2. December 4, 2006 4:10 pm

    After reading about the style of Maggie’s hat earlier, this is just what I had pictured… I saw a baby with this type of hat a few days ago… and she was just precious! Not unlike your little mobile-angel. I LOVE the hat… and the model. 🙂

  3. Sheba permalink
    January 16, 2007 12:40 am

    I knit this hat for my friend’s new baby recently. It’s a really great pattern. I did mine in a variegated sock yarn in subtle colors and it turned out beautifully, then made matching baby sockies. Your child is adorable in hers–she really is extremely photogenic. Congrats on all your beautiful knitting. It must be a pleasure to knit for such a beautiful child and see her happy in her knitting garments!

Leave a Reply

