Skip to content

Disheartening Discovery

November 10, 2006

There was a problem that I noticed after I blocked the purple capelet.

I didn’t notice until I was writing my last post, and I was heartbroken and angry and confused.  There I was enjoying my finished shawl – looking over it and feeling so proud of what I had just knit.

capelet-no-arrow.JPG
See it?   Here, I’ll show you.

capelet-arrow.jpg

A slight variance in color, right were I started a new ball of yarn.  Slight at first, becoming more and more OBVIOUS the more I looked at the shawl.  Top half.  Bottom half.  Crap.

I would never buy a whole bunch of yarn for a project and not check the dyelot.  Would I?

I surely saved the ball band.  Didn’t I?  Oops.  Those Lamb’s Pride ball bands happen to be a perfect material for a baby to chew on and crinkle around while their mother tries to knit a few rows.  So when I first discovered this color issue I couldn’t find that one ball band.  I checked the others and they were all the same dyelot.

The more I looked at the damn shawl, the angrier I got.  What a waste of time!  A whole beautiful piece of knitting down the drain.  And I kept thinking to myself, “There’s no way I didn’t check the dyelots!”

I finally did find that (crinkly, chewed upon) last ball band and to my surprise, IT WAS THE SAME DYELOT.  Does that make any sense whatsoever?

I mentioned all this to the woman who owns the local spinning store (part of the lys).  She said that she’s heard of it only once before with the Lamb’s Pride.  She claims that perhaps the fibers of that one skein didn’t take up the dye like the fibers of the other skeins, even though they’re labled as being from the same dyelot.

I’ve come to terms with the whole situation.  See (stick with me), my husband cooks dinner for me.  Nearly all the time he cooks a really delicious meal.  But every once in a while he’ll make something that, although edible, is borderline yucky.  He never apoligizes, he never even brings it to your attention that it’s yucky.  He just serves it, and chances are that you might not even notice how disgusting it is.

So I gave my mother-in-law the shawl with nary a mention about the color issue.  What she doesn’t know can’t drive her batty.  Of course she didn’t notice, and she probably never will.  She’ll love the shawl and think of me when she wears it.

Has anyone ever experienced this with yarn from the same dyelot?  What did you do?  Did you contact the yarn company?  Was your knitting okay or did you have to rip?  I’d love to hear.

p.s.  I’ve been knitting like crazy.  Finally a hat for the Mag (it’s freakin’ adorable).   Spooky Cabled Armwarmers are on the needles.  The Christmas Rose giftbag from this book.  Probably more that I can’t think of this minute.  OH!  And I’ve been unraveling thrift store sweaters, including one that was apparently hand-knit out of bulky wool for an elephant (I’m calling it  the “That’ll Teach You to Check Your Guage” sweater).  But sadly, I HAVE NO CAMERA.  It’s lost and probably missing.  No camera makes for a dull blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2006 10:31 pm

    wow. i’ve never had that happen. i hope it doesn’t. but that’s crazy being all the same dyelot. why don’t you overdye it? and then it’s color should be consistent or at least blend better?

  2. November 22, 2006 11:30 am

    so sorry about the color change….i would have never have noticed it! I LOVE that! great job!

  3. December 4, 2006 2:58 pm

    Hey – because it fades (and only slightly) upwards and because of the position of the transition, right after the lacey section, I think you can think of it as a design feature! I certainly wouldn’t rip out all that lovely work. To me it looks as if it could’ve been intentional! and the capelet is beautiful.

  4. December 11, 2006 8:47 am

    I don’t think it’s bad at all, but you could always overdye the whole thing if it really annoys you. I’d mess around with a skein or two of Paton’s classic wool before you drop this in the dye pot, though…it might do the trick. But I don’t think you need to do it. Has it been wet-blocked? Maybe the bottom skein just held more dye, and maybe it will let it go…

Leave a Reply

