Skip to content

little purple cape

October 24, 2006

capelet-finished.JPG

Grand Plan Top-Down Capelet
Lace-edged Cardigan with Collar
Designed by Ann Budd
From Wrap Style
Start: October 11, 2006
Finish: October 24, 2006
Yarn: Lamb’s Pride Worsted (M-56 Clematis, color above is pretty true)
Needles: US 9, US 8 for button band
Knit for: my mother-in-law, Noreen

This project was the most fun I have ever had knitting. I can’t explain exactly why, but I think it had to do with how everything fell into place just so. Fun to the max.

Part of the fun had to do with who I made this for: Noreen, my mother-in-law. She is a former knitter (more on that another day) and is the person who really taught me to knit. As we like to say she taught me how to knit The Irish Way, which is to hold my right hand needle like a pencil (lever-style). I gave her the first thing I ever made – a cotton diagonal dishcloth – and she just loved it. She really appreciates the work that goes into knitting something, she turns whatever you give her to the inside to inspect it, and she asks about how it was constructed.

capelet-button.JPG

Noreen was born in Ireland, and I was pleased to find these Celtic buttons at the craft store. They’re cheap, but not plastic. She likes them.

Yes, I showed her the “cape” already. I showed it to her while it was wet and blocking. Of course she didn’t mind. I even told her it was a birthday present, even though her birthday isn’t until December.

capelet-detail.JPG

Ah. It feels good to finish something that’s so dang pretty. And so NOT something I would wear, but perfect for the recipient.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa S. permalink
    October 24, 2006 7:08 pm

    I LOVE IT. That looks fab. As always, you do such a great job.

  2. October 24, 2006 7:44 pm

    Its great! I love the color, and the buttons are a nice detail.

  3. October 25, 2006 12:12 pm

    gosh, that’s so amazingly gorgeous. sometimes it’s not until i see a project in the “flesh” that i decide i want one too. i’ve had wrap style forever but wasn’t eager to knit anything from it. until now!

  4. October 27, 2006 3:31 am

    that is truely wonderful – the colour is just stunning and the design! I hope you get a huge buzz when you wear it!
    take care

  5. sarah permalink
    October 30, 2006 10:37 pm

    Mandy, you should put all your knitting stuff up on associated content. They pay like $4 and up per little article. So far I have made $12. If you go to my blog and click on the button, it will take you there. For those of you who think I am some big psycho, I am really a friend of Mandy’s who knows her, not some weirdo spam lady.

  6. February 20, 2007 10:55 am

    I followed your link from the potholder loop rug to see why your MIL is so appreciative of handknits. And I can see why, aside from the fact that she was a knitter. The cape is gorgeous! I love it, the buttons and the color and everything.

Leave a Reply

