Skip to content

Frak that.

October 10, 2006

I’ve got very good intentions to knit a great many things.  But after days and days of working on a hat for the Mag, all I’ve got is a ball of yarn and a crushed spirit.

maggie-hat.JPG

Well, in reality it had only been about three days.  First I tried using a pattern I have for a pilot cap from Little Turtle Knits.  I used too small a needle and it was coming out crappy.  Then I decided to try and make an Army Girl Earflap hat from IK Winter 05 (pdf pattern).  I tried it on the Mag as I was knitting, and it looked okay.  I was loving the garter rib stitch.  So last night I finished it up and this morning I tried it on her and it was too big and crappy looking.

The frustration!  Here I had tried two different patterns where I had to adjust for size and/or guage and they were both complete failures.  With such little knitting time around here the past few weeks, I just want something to be FINISHED ALREADY.  I have no idea what the next hat plan will be, but luckily it’s about 70 degrees today so I don’t need to be in a rush.

There’s been much sock knitting, but little progress.  I finished the first sock of one pair, but unraveled the first sock of another pair.

I forgot to tell you!  I renamed my Kool Aid socks my Veronica Mars socks.  That’s because I love Veronica Mars, I want to marry it, and it comes on tonight.  You must watch.

Hey!  Socktoberfest!  Let me be the last to answer your questions, Lolly.

beer-sock.jpg

When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?

I taught myself to knit socks during the 2006 Knitting Olympics.  It wasn’t as hard as I imagined it would be
What was your first pair?  How have they “held up” over time?

Those Olympic socks, my first pair, were Grumperina’s Jaywalkers.  The plan was to knit the socks during the Olympics so they’d be ready for my due date on March 1.  I’d wear them during the labor & delivery of the Mag.  Nice plan except they made my feet too hot.  I was barefoot when Maggie was born, and my first handknit socks were safely tucked away in my hospital bag.  I haven’t worn them much, as summers here are HOT, but they’re also slouchy.

What would you have done differently?

I think I used US 2 needles, which were much too big.  I have since discovered that I tend to knit very loose (slouchiness explained).  Other than needle size, I wouldn’t have changed a thing.  The pattern, as you may know, is really awesome and it made knitting my first socks very fun.

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?

I haven’t used that many great sock yarns.  The yarn I’m using for my current socks is Knit Picks 100% merino dye-your-own sock yarn and it is definitely the best I’ve used so far.  Soft, squishy and yummy.  I wish my LYS’s carried a wider selection of sock yarns.

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?

I’ve only used dpn’s so far in my sock knitting life.  I like it but someday I’m sure I’ll try another method.

Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)

I just knit my first short-row heel and then promptly unraveled the whole sock because it was too big.  I’ll certainly try the short-row heel again, but the heel flap has worked out pretty well for me.  I haven’t knit enough socks yet to have a final answer.  I’ll keep trying both.

How many pairs have you made?

Pairs?  There was the Olympic pair.  There was the pair for Aunt AJ.  There was the single sock that went horribly wrong that I will never speak of.  And now I have three pairs on the needles.  Let’s see – that makes exactly TWO PAIRS.

Socktoberfest, here I come!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sarah permalink
    October 15, 2006 9:26 pm

    I’m knitting my first ever ribbed thing. It’s a scarf. I’m extremely proud. I just learned how to purl yesterday.

    you must not laugh.

  2. December 10, 2006 7:41 pm

    Look at your books! We also have One Duck Stuck. Phyllis Root was one of my mentors in my MFA program. I’m so glad you commented today. It’s fun looking over yoru blog!

Leave a Reply

