Skip to content

mindless knitting

September 14, 2006

With the children both sick (but getting better), I’ve needed to find mindless things to work on.  Just a few stitches or rows when I have a minute or after they’ve gone to bed.  Some progress was made on the Embossed Leaves socks for my mom:

embossed-2.JPG

but the pattern is not mindless enough for me.  If I sit down to knit it, I’ve gotta have the pattern handy and the light has to be good.  And since I’m so tired at the end of the day, I never get very many rows finished.

So, although I had been knitting MDK dishcloths at an alarming rate, I was getting tired of them.  With so much sock yarn sitting around, I knew that I needed to start a simple sock that I could pick up for a moment here or there and work on easily without being attached at the hip to the pattern.

trekking-2.JPG

The trekking XXL yarn.  Mmmmmmm.  I love it.  I did some guaging last week and finally yesterday I cast on.  Old Norwegian Style, baby.  I’m using a pattern from the subscriber-only section of Interweave – Priscilla Gibson-Roberts’ Dream Socks pattern.  I hope they fit my large feet.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa S. permalink
    September 14, 2006 4:43 pm

    socks…socks…socks…. I love socks! You know that though don’t you 😉 ! Both socks look great. I do like the colors. Can I come shopping for sock yarn in your “Sock stash store”? I’ll pay the going rate! 🙂

  2. September 14, 2006 11:49 pm

    I love the “halo”/lightness of the embossed leaves sock– really nice. Good luck with the trekking, I love that colorway.

Leave a Reply

