Skip to content

dinosaurs are not extinct

August 18, 2006

mr-stegs.JPG

Pattern: Dinosaurs, free online from Xtreme-Knitting, pattern includes three beasties, this is Mr. Stegs.
Started: Sometime in June, maybe.
Finished: August 17, 2006.
Yarn: KnitPicks Merino Style, leftover from this project
Needles: I think I used US #3’s for the whole thing.
Other: Wool from my local spinning store for stuffing. So much nicer than poly stuffing.
Modifications: On the spines, the pattern says to increase by doing a yarn forward. This did not look good to me. I was probably doing it wrong, and it was all loopy. So instead I just achieved the same effect using a make 1 increase. It looked so much better. I also added the stitching on the legs to give the appearance of toes. I believe this added a touch of scientific accuracy to my mighty stegasaurus. Just kidding.

The plan is for this dino to be a Christmas gift. This would be the very first finished project to be designated as such this year. I need to find a box for hiding/storing purposes, because someone has already showed a fondness for Mr. Stegs.

mr-stegs-and-jerry.JPG

I think I see more Dino knitting in my future.

The rudimentary embroidery was my first.

mr-stegs-face.JPG

Jerry says it looks “wonderful.”  In fact, I think it looks wonderful, too.  I can’t stop staring at my fierce beastie dino.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2006 4:44 pm

    So cute!! I bet you’ll have a time trying to get him away from the little one 🙂

  2. Sarah permalink
    August 19, 2006 2:35 am

    that skull hat is really cool also. what extreme knitting you do!

  3. September 23, 2006 8:45 pm

    How absolutely adorable!

Leave a Reply

