Skip to content

neutrals

August 14, 2006

I’m not much of a joiner when it comes to knit-alongs.  It’s not that I have anything against them, it’s just I fear that I will lose interest in a project and fail to stay committed then become a major knit-along loser.

I joined one anyway.  Not really a knit-along, though.  Project Spectrum.  I’m a late joiner, but I’ve so enjoyed seeing all the creatve and colorful juices flowing on other blogs.  I’ve already got some neutral August projects planned, so I signed up.  I’m looking forward to the next Project Spectrum from Lolly, whatever form it may take.

First up, the Swallowtail.

swallowtail-with-lifeline.JPG

Hasn’t changed, but for the addition of a lifeline.  I’ll get back ti it soon, maybe once I finish

the pirate hat.

skulls2.JPG

I just started decreasing and am totally excited to finish.  Since it is my first time stranding, I did some experimenting.

skulls-detail.JPG

On the bottom skulls, I used the wrap, wrap, unwrap technique I read about in this book to shorten the distance of the floats.  I really enjoyed executing the little twists, but it made it bumpy in the front.  Perhaps I did it too tightly.  Turns out it was unneccessary, because on the next skulls I just let the yarn float loosely, and it looks much better.  The floats aren’t really a big deal because it’s just a hat, and there won’t be any fingies to snag on them.

I thought for sure I would be married to the chart for this hat.  I am – in the sense that for each new row I need to see what’s happening.  But I definitely feel the flow of the pattern and don’t have to check the chart for each stitch.  I also know really quickly if I’ve messed up.  I can just feel it.  It’s very cool.

And because I can’t have enough sock yarn even though I haven’t had socks on the needles in ages, new yarn for a new project.

embossed.JPG

I told my mom I would make her the Embossed Leaves Socks from IK (Winter 05), so she bought me the yarn.  It’s Silja superwash in a lovely light gray heather.

So I’m feeling the neutrals in August.  Oh, I am such a joiner.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 10, 2006 5:31 pm

    This is scary! I habe this shawl on the needles, I have cast-on the second sock today, and I have everything ready to start this hat!!! Are we twins? Or is everybody working on just those three today?
    We, at least I can tell you you have very good tastes!
    😉

Leave a Reply

