Skip to content

minor tragedy

August 6, 2006

It all happens very quickly.

I notice a mistake in the Swallowtail. I squint at it. I purse my lips. I look at it over and over and over. It seems a yarnover was forgotten or misplaced a few rows back.

swallowtail-mistake.JPG
You can see it. Just right there in the center of the picture. A hole where there shouldn’t be, and the absence of hole where there should be.

Having completed the seventh repeat, I decide that trying to fix this mistake is the thing to do. There’s very little room for fudging in lace, as I am quickly and painfully learning.

I’m going backwards now, stitch by stitch. I think I’m even getting those little buggers back in their places correctly.

Here’s when I screw up.

The phone rings, I answer and decide to continue the perilous work of undoing while on the phone. Then the baby wakes up. Then the phone rings again. It just happens so quickly. Stitches are flying everywhere. I can’t hold it together. Off come the needles. I barely manage to get a picture before I stuff this to the bottom of the pile.

swallowtail-off-the-needles.JPG

I’m trying not to be upset. I understand that another mistake may happen. I wonder what I’ll do if I find myself in a similar predicament a few days from now. Will I rip again?

In the mean time, I’ve made it through repeat four on attempt number two.

swallowtail-number-2.JPG

It looks perfect at this moment.
And I will hold my breath with each and every stitch.  All seventy-eleven of them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2006 11:12 am

    Dearie, put in a lifeline! Dental floss, sewing needle – thread it through a row 1 of the pattern (or whatever, your last row of live stitches) and let it sit while you knit. Then if you need to rip back you can pull out your needles and go, and the floss will stop it. You can do this every row if you want. It will save your LIFE on complicated lace. Honestly! :o) If you have the Options needles you can thread the floss through the keyhole on the needle and just knit – automatic lifeline!

  2. August 10, 2006 1:56 pm

    It’s already done. I knew I needed a lifeline, and every time I got to the end of a row I just was too LAZY to go find the crap I needed. HOW LAME IS THAT? But I did just put one in. I think doing it after every completed pattern repeat is a really good idea.

    THANKS

  3. September 5, 2006 3:49 pm

    Aaack! Here via yarnival. Such tragedy. I don’t think I would have had the stomach. If the error doesn’t affect future rows, and if a bystander who doesn’t can’t see it, I’m much more laisse faire about things. However, the re-knit looks great.

  4. September 12, 2006 3:32 am

    but if you ignore it the whole stitch count is messed up – oh – deep respect to the knitters of lace – i do not count myself among your number

  5. November 16, 2006 5:08 pm

    ah and I am one of those bystanders who can’t see it – I haven’t tried knitting lace yet – way scary!!

Leave a Reply

