Skip to content

Easy as 1…2…3…4…5

July 30, 2006

One.  Wait for this to be in stock at KnitPicks:

pre-koolaid.JPG

Two.  Do the mixing.

koolaid-packets.JPG

Three.  Practice patience.

koolaid-bath.JPG

Four.  More patience as the wool dries.

koolaid-outside.JPG

Five.  Ta da.

koolaid.JPG

This was a most enjoyable and easy project.  Directions on how to dye your yarn using Kool-Aid are from Knitty.  I would love to make some self-striping yarn, but I don’t think it’s possible in my small-ish house with a four-year-old and a soon to be crawling baba.  I have one more skein of the KnitPicks yarn and I’m thinking blue or maybe green or maybe a handpainted combo of the two.

I am trying to come up with a name for my new ball of pink-ish yarn.  Any suggestions?

I started a lace project.  My very first.  I’ll let you in on the details soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa S. permalink
    July 30, 2006 9:24 pm

    This was WAY better in person. Did you think up a name for it yet? Watermelon splash! It looks yummy.

    Wow. Holy knitting, Batman! Have fun. I am jealous of all your cool stash!

  2. August 12, 2006 9:34 pm

    How about coral candy? My kool aid dye attempt came out ever so slightly variegated too.

Leave a Reply

