Skip to content

Boy Sweater Takes Shape

July 3, 2006

And viewers around the world hold their breath.

I swatched using the Wave Cable from Barbara Walker’s First Treasury.

boy-sweater-cable.JPG

The swatch almost shows how I’ll do it. I’ll do a 2×2 rib for the whole cuff (instead of the k6 panel below the cable as shown) , which should lead into the cable nicely.

Edited: Here’s a picture of the cable from the book, to prove that I’m not twisting incorrectly:

wave.JPG
click for bigger, sorry it is blue
I chose this because I wanted something different for Jerry. I don’t think plain old cables are right for him. But it is similar to the Harlot’s discussion of fixing cables from a week or two ago. Hopefully I won’t have to do any of that, because honestly, it’s just too scary.

Having swatched for the project sufficiently, I cast on for the body:

boy-sweater-beginning.JPG

I’m using US#3’s for the ribbing, and I’ll switch to US#5’s for the body. The guage is 5 stitches per inch. Instead of making up the pattern completely from my head, I have used the guidelines for a raglan sweater from Ann Budd’s Knitter’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns. I have it from the library, and it is really quite useful. Instead of just winging this sweater, I’m more confidant that this will turn out to be something that Jerry can actually wear (even if he’s permitted to do absolutely nothing while wearing it).

In other knitting news

I lost my wallet. In a stroke of luck, I lost it just mere hours after I procured this:

sock-yarn.JPG

Had I lost my wallet before this purchase, I would have never splurged.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. H-Spo permalink
    July 3, 2006 12:08 pm

    I think that the cable is taking some wrong turns. Go look at the harlot…the one where she talks about undoing cables. There is a pic of a good one.

    I think it should look a bit more symmetrical.

  2. July 3, 2006 12:25 pm

    it’s supposed to look like that. i swear.

  3. July 3, 2006 12:25 pm

    i’ll prove it.

Trackbacks

  1. Zigzag Stitch » Blog Archive » striped cables?

Leave a Reply

