Skip to content

June 27, 2006

boy-sweater-book.JPG

The boy sweater for Jerry is still in the all tangled up yarn and needles swatching phase.  I have a new knitting book to call my own (not from the library!), and have tentatively decided to use a wave cable to add some artistic flair to an otherwise plain sweater.  I must attribute the artistic flair not to my own artistic instincts, but to the wealth of totally sweet options in my new book (Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting Patterns).  Also, I’ve decided to try to expand my knitting horizons, rather than take the easy way out and knit in stockinette.  If the sun comes out today, I will take a picture of my wave cable swatch that I knit up last night.

colory-sock.JPG

That sock is stiff.  The two other pairs of socks I’ve made have been too floppy, so I think I’ve overcompensated by using US #00 needles.  The sock is stretchy, and I can get it on my foot, but I think it would also fit Jerry.  As I knit, I keep trying to think of someone who I know that has very tiny ankles.  The pattern is from Knitting Vintage Socks by Nancy Bush – the Lichen Ribbed Sock pattern in the beginning.  And the yarn is Regia Jacquard.  I just can’t seem to get on board with this whole fake fairisle thing, and I don’t even really like the colors.  It was on sale.  See my strand of hair in the picture!  It’s still falling out!  Argh.

hat-for-jill-done.JPG

The Ear Cozies hat is finished.  When I last mentioned it, I said I have made five of them and this would be my sixth.  Wrong-o!  I have made, like, three others that I didn’t think of.  I should try and find a different cute baby hat pattern that is more challenging.

Now I’ll go wait for the sun.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

