Skip to content

prancing pony theory in action

June 3, 2006

I'm finally making headway on the purple pea pod.

pea pod june 3.JPG

I feel like a knitting goddess working from a chart. It's not hard, I am a smart person who can understand a pattern, and I rule the world.
We interrupt this knitting broadcast for an urgent message. My friend, the one I'm teaching to knit, just (I mean just.this.instant) called with knitting related questions. We together cast on twenty-five stitches and after knitting a few rows by herself she has suddenly discovered nearly thirty-six stitches on her needle! She's taken to the knitting! She's calling with questions at any hour of the day! She's ready to purl! She understands my fondness for natural fibers and seems to agree! I might start leaping at any moment… back to the pea pod.

So there is a part in one of the SnB books that mentions mistakes in knitting and if you can't see them from a prancing pony…or if a prancing pony is wearing the item with the mistake…or something…then the mistake is okay…or whatever…

So I noticed a mistake in the leaf section on the sweater. It seems as though I missed a yarnover. It is in the first pattern repeat, and I'm on the third pattern repeat, and I kinda just decided to let it go. I was telling the husband about it and he asked (having barely overheard the whole prancing pony bit on occasion): "Can you see it from a horse?"

I laughed, corrected him ("duh, it's prancing pony"), and decided that if Maggie is wearing this bitty sweater while prancing around on a pretty pony and a casual observer ambles by, NO, the mistake would not be visible.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

