Skip to content

The Knitting! Oh!

May 17, 2006

It's funny how much I think about the knitting. I read my magazines. I flip through my patterns. I fondle my yarn. I organize my needles. I read the blogs. I even talk to my husband about it, but I doubt he's even listening. The thing about the knitting, I haven't knit a stitch in days! Yet I'm constantly preoccupied with the ideas in my head.

I cast on for Kate Gilbert's Pea Pod Baby Set (pdf), a free pattern from IK, about a week ago.  It's my first real sweater (I did a bottom-up, seamless raglan – don't think it counts for a real sweater – no seaming) and the first time I'm knitting from a chart.  So I can't just knit for a bit while the kids are sleeping or busy.  I need to completely concentrate one hundred percent while I'm working on it.  I've knit two rows.

I realized that there are symbols in the chart that I don't know what to do with.  I figure that I can just knit to that point and the symbols might make sense once I get there.  Who knows.  The other thing is that when the kids are sleeping or otherwise busy, I'm tired and all I want to do is sleep or stare at the television listlessly not thinking about a damn thing (other than to wonder whether Veronica Mars will make it to the CW).

Last year, my first year as a knitter, I took the entire summer off leading my husband to believe that there is a definite knitting season.  Not so this year.  I have become infatuated and come hell or high water I will figure out this pattern, knit from a chart, take pictures, show off my progress, discuss it with myself ad nauseum, AND FIGURE OUT THIS PEA POD THING BEFORE THE MAG GETS TOO BIG TO WEAR IT. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 24, 2006 10:14 am

    I had the same problem with Pea Pod. They’ve fixed the chart. You should go to the website and print a new copy.

Leave a Reply

