Skip to content

Solution for Second Sock Syndrome.

April 29, 2006

The most pressing thing on the needles is the second of the pair of AJ Socks (for Aunt AJ of course).  The pattern is a simple stockinette, and although I'd like to learn a short-row heel, I've just gone ahead and done a heel flap, like I know how.  I'll learn the short-row heel on my next pair.  I'm using lace weight hand spun & dyed merino from a local woman who sells her yarn at a store down the road (an hour down the road).  The needles are US #0.  If you told me when I began knitting how much I would enjoy this tiny needle, I would have called you crazy. 

It would have gone like this:
You: "Size zero needles aren't that bad once you get the hang of it."
Me: "Size zero?  You're off your rocker you crazy knitter!"

I have – naturally – lost my attention for the AJ Socks.  I'm getting close to turning the heel on sock#2 and am quite bored by the whole deal.

So I came up with a plan.  It's not a real plan, because I am not going to actually go through with it, but I've considered that it might be a good way to overcome the boredom I feel with sock#2.  Why don't I just send her sock#1?  Right now, she has no idea that I am making her handknit socks, and there is not much motivation for me to hurry up and finish.  But if I sent her the first sock, then she'd be all like, "Sweet!*  A sock!  That's strange…just one sock.  Hmmmm.  I wonder where the other sock is?"  Meanwhile, I'm back home knitting furiously while kicking myself in the shins because I just sent someone a single sock. 
I'm not going to do this.  She'd call me crazy and stop sending birthday cards.  But I'm constantly wondering (while constantly not finishing the second sock) if it would work.

*Aunt AJ is much too proper to say sweet.  She might just say, "Oh, how nice."   

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    April 29, 2006 12:07 pm

    That’s a very innovative idea, but it would baffle her, I’m sure.

  2. h-spo permalink
    April 30, 2006 1:16 pm

    so i’ve done a short row…something. i don’t think it was a sock. i think it was a mitten. maybe a fiber trends mitten. they are fun and totally easy. all you do is follow the pattern. follow it like a religion. just do what the pattern says and have faith. jodi and i were knitting and she came to a short row…something…her sweater, maybe…anyway…she didn’t want to do it. she was like, “what? turn in the middle of a row?” she almost didn’t do it. i told her to stop thinking and just DO IT. so she did. whatever she was knitting turned out fabulous. i remember that.

    i like the one sock idea. send aunt aj a little note with the solo sock. she’ll love it and she’ll probably enjoy the humor. i bet she needs all the humor she can get.

  3. April 30, 2006 1:44 pm

    sometimes us knitters think we’re so clever that we don’t need to follow the pattern. but you’re right. follow it like a religion.

Leave a Reply

