Skip to content

the swap

June 2, 2009

I sometimes refer to the kitchen as MY kitchen, but it really is more my husband’s kitchen. He does most of the cooking, so it’s just natural that things are more his way than my way. If I had my way, we would use color coordinated potholders and hot pads. But since we do things his way, we just use ratty dish towels when we need to put a hot pot on the counter.

hot pads

In a way, then, it doesn’t make sense that I would sign up for a potholder swap since we don’t use them and I can’t foresee us ever using them in any practical way, but that’s just what I did. Then I went ahead and made a butt load of potholders. Not only that, but I crocheted them!  Crazy talk.

The swap, officially know as hot pads! and potholders – the swap, is coming to a close and I expect to receive my shipment in the next few weeks and I can’t wait. It was super fun to spend time crocheting (and I went a little over the top and now have a bunch of granny squares) and if nothing else, I learned that I am a fantastic granny-squarer. As of right now I could spend the rest of my crochet life making granny squares and be perfectly content.

Here are my hot pads:

hot pad

hot pad

hot pad

hot pad

hot pad

hot pad

The yarn is all worsted weight wool of varying brands, and the most fun part of all was putting together the crazy colors. I used the free pattern called Sunburst Granny Square by Priscilla Hewitt, on Ravelry here. They were super-curly until I blocked them.

In other news, the chickens have moved to the coop down the hill. They love it down there and we love going down to watch and talk to them. Here’s the coop.

the coop and chicken run

See the cat? She hasn’t bothered the chicks yet, but we have our fingers crossed. The chicken run is well fortified, and we leave the chicks in there all the time.

Here they are after I opened the door:

chicks, exploring

I think this picture is from Friday and they have grown so much even since then! They are gonna be some big chickens.

This is Bugsy:

bugsy

She (I’m still using that term loosely, we’ll know hes from shes in a couple of weeks) is our favorite because she is the friendliest. She follows Maggie around and it’s very funny. Jerry named her Bugsy because when the kids were trying to feed them bugs, she was the only one who would come right up to them.

There are two others with names (Veronica, as in Veronica Mars and Angela, as in Angela Chase) but I’ll have to get better pictures of them.

Until next time!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 12:59 pm

    Been meaning to ask you how the chickies were.

  2. mai permalink
    June 2, 2009 1:48 pm

    i love the potholders and the chicks! i wish i knew how to crochet so i could’ve participated :)

  3. MOM permalink
    June 2, 2009 9:17 pm

    I have been wondering where you were! The chicks are BIG. And the potholders are nice, too!

  4. June 4, 2009 2:51 pm

    Love the potholders. I don’t crochet but the closer I get to finishing Lizard Ridge, the more I realize I will need to learn for the border. The chickens look like fun!

  5. June 4, 2009 4:15 pm

    Oooh, I hope I get one of your potholders! Mine were more like pads too, and I didn’t take a picture before sending them off, boo. Your chickens have grown so fast!

  6. June 5, 2009 2:19 pm

    Cool potholders and cute chicks! :)

  7. June 7, 2009 8:36 pm

    Aw! Our preschool teachers keep trying to rope us into getting chickens, but we keep resisting. They have two chicks every year in the classroom for a week or two. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

