Skip to content

on to the next

May 4, 2009

fair isle pullover, sleeve 1

I’ve started another child’s seamless sweater, this time with yoke, but still for the same class at Gate City Yarns (Custom Pullover for your Kid).  Beginning with a sleeve is an attempt to trick myself into thinking that the knitting is going quickly, but I think it doesn’t work.

I’m working from another Spun Out pattern.  This time Spun Out 4 – Child’s Yoke Sweater, but this pattern has appeared many places, for adults or any size if you’re an EPSer. I’m going to use the original charts from EZ – it makes me feel connected to the past in a way that is very comforting.

I started the cuffs with a peak of each color that will appear in the yoke design. This is less of a “feature” and more of a way for me to see what the colors are like together. I like it.

The yarn – sigh – is Rowan Felted Tweed and it’s pure bliss. Rowan is usually out of my price range, but these large balls go a long way and the quality is worth the extra cost.  And the colors!

This morning, on my List of things to do, I wrote “cast on sleeve 2″ so I’m going to get to that right now.  I also wrote “pattern” on my list, which refers to putting the finishing touches on the I Heart You sweater pattern. If you’re waiting around for that, you will be able to get it this week.  And that’s a promise!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. carpoolknitter permalink
    May 4, 2009 2:50 pm

    beautiful colorway. looks like another winner!

  2. May 4, 2009 9:46 pm

    Another beautiful color combination!

  3. May 5, 2009 2:49 am

    Very pretty combo! Can’t wait to see this one progress!

  4. Joyce permalink
    May 5, 2009 6:10 am

    I admire your work. Looking forward to this one also.

  5. Kay in Atlanta permalink
    May 6, 2009 2:01 pm

    I have looked back over your blog and you do beautiful knitting and you have two of the most delicious children on the planet. I taught myself to knit and I’ve come a long way. I crocheted first. The knitting, to me, is harder but determination is the key. I have a cousin in Canton, NC. I love your blog. I’ll continue to follow it.

Leave a Reply

