Skip to content

hearts, finished

March 21, 2009

Hi there.  I finished the heart sweater for Maggie.

i heart you

I feel like a knitting Superwoman, because it turned out just exactly how I envisioned it.  Perfect in (nearly) every way.

i heart you

I hesitate to point out the imperfect things, but I will for posterity.  The sleeves could use about 8 more sts at the top.  They are very snug, and I need to manhandle them to get her arms through.

i heart you

The other thing is that I don’t think she’s really keen on that turtleneck.  Unfortunately for her, it’s not about what she thinks.  It’s about what I think and I think it’s awesome.

On to the perfect things.

I had an intense level of patience with this knit.  I ripped it back in various spots four (five, maybe?) times; I’m proud of myself for sticking with it for all that knitting, ripping, reknitting, reripping.  I really wanted to see this little thing through to completion.

The colors!  I love the bright hearts, and I love how the color changes produce wide stripes.  I hadn’t expected that.  Funny thing about the colors – the yarn store only stocks these bright hues.  I bought one of each (and a bunch of heather brown) and went to town.

The fit is slim, but long enough that maybe she’ll wear it next year?  With the tight sleeves, maybe not.  Kids have big bellies and teeny tiny arms.  I’m hopeful.

Sometimes yoke sweaters pucker, and although I accept that (see October sweater – slight puckering) I was really pleased that the puckers are non-existent here.  I wish I had a better idea of why the yoke is so flat.  Perhaps because the first decrease is placed so soon after joining?  I will be experimenting with this idea.

i heart you

I am writing the pattern; other folks are loving this sweater as much as I do.  The pattern will include sleeves that aren’t too snug, but I’m not doing anything about that turtleneck.  It is much too cool.  I’m considering including adult sizes.  Any interest in that?

Check it on Ravelry (my project).
Queue it on Ravelry (the pattern page, for when it’s ready).

(Just a thought on that pic of Maggie running.  I love it more than most any picture I have taken of her, ever.  It’s funny, because you can’t see her face.  But I think it’s because it really, really shows my true Maggie: running, exuberant, messy hair.  I heart you, baby.)

34 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2009 10:36 am

    Boy,this is amazing! Just like something I would like to knit for me little one!

  2. March 21, 2009 1:09 pm

    omg, yes! and adult sizes? hell yes! i would totally wear one.

    and wow, maggie is so cute. fits her perfectly! i love it so.

  3. March 21, 2009 1:40 pm

    It’s beautiful.
    Well done!

  4. h-spo permalink
    March 21, 2009 1:43 pm

    love it. LOVE.

  5. March 21, 2009 1:55 pm

    What else can I say…I heart it!

  6. knitengruven permalink
    March 21, 2009 3:24 pm

    What a beautiful sweater! I love it, too.

  7. March 21, 2009 4:44 pm

    Gorge. Yes, please do write the pattern- will you do it for bigger kiddos as well?

  8. crimsonpurl permalink
    March 21, 2009 5:46 pm

    You ARE a superknit woman! :)

    Yes would be VERY much interested in the pattern kid/adult version and the turtleneck definitely stays!! I really like that 1st pic with the close up of the turtleneck :)

    Great knit/design job Mandy!!

  9. March 21, 2009 5:48 pm

    This is SO nice! And so is your girl – I like the running picture too, it captures the spirit of our little ones

  10. March 21, 2009 6:22 pm

    that came out perfectly as you said. I love how it makes stripes too!! Great job!

  11. March 21, 2009 7:08 pm

    What a cute sweater, really adorable. I’d love to knit one.

  12. March 21, 2009 9:16 pm

    I have two girls (3 and 1) and I’m constantly knitting for them! This would be the perfect sweater for this coming fall! Yes yes yes, write the pattern! I would make myself one as well! :)

  13. March 21, 2009 9:23 pm

    Speechless. It is so wonderful, the photos are adorable and the fact that you mostly just designed as you went makes it even better. If colorwork did not seem so menacing (or I had a good tutor ;) ), I might try it!

  14. March 21, 2009 10:23 pm

    awwwwww! Adorable sweater on an even more adorable girl. You’ve got a hit.

  15. carpoolknitter permalink
    March 22, 2009 12:46 am

    This is an exuberant, cheerful sweater, and I <3 it too.

  16. March 22, 2009 2:32 am

    This is super cute!

  17. chelsie permalink
    March 22, 2009 9:51 am

    This is an AWESOME sweater!!! How special and awesome that you designed it yourself… this sweater reminds me so much of a plastic rainbow heart necklace I had when I was six. The sweater just LOOKS like happy childhood!

  18. March 22, 2009 3:56 pm

    Such a cutie in that cute sweater!

    That’s right – it is about what we want. :)

  19. March 22, 2009 9:40 pm

    I’ve said it before, and I repeat…I want to be Mandy when I grow up. God, Maggie’s cute!

  20. March 23, 2009 11:29 am

    the sweater is so beautiful. I love it. I have a daughter who would love it as well. I’ve not done much stranded knitting though. Is it hard? Maybe your pattern would be easy on us unprofessional knitters. :)

  21. LauraJ permalink
    March 23, 2009 4:41 pm

    So cute! Looks like a great project. And I agree, running pictures are the best :)

  22. March 27, 2009 11:43 am

    Oh my, that is absolutely too darling. Darling!

  23. March 27, 2009 4:50 pm

    i am in love with this sweater and your wee one. it is unbelievably sweet.

    i needed to see something like this today, thanks. :)

  24. March 28, 2009 7:05 pm

    I would love an adult sized pattern!!! Easily the greatest sweater ever.

  25. March 29, 2009 2:37 pm

    Wow. Stunning! And Mags is growing up so nicely, too. You have the best knitting imagination around, Mandy. This sweater is way cool. I’d totally make one for Mia. (pls for bigger girl sizes?)

  26. March 30, 2009 1:08 pm

    She is precious and that sweater is amazing!

  27. March 31, 2009 6:41 am

    I love it, just love it!!
    Hope the pattern come before easter, than this will be my hollyday knitting.

  28. March 31, 2009 2:28 pm

    this is an adorable sweater, mandy. just so bright and childish and perfect for a little girl. i understand why you like the last picture. it is very very nice.

  29. April 1, 2009 10:46 pm

    THat has got to be the CUTEST sweater ever! I so wish I had a little girl I could knit this for. Alas God blessed me with a boy….maybe someday…I’ll keep this sweater in mind!

  30. April 13, 2009 7:32 pm

    Hi There! Popping over from Sew Mama Sew and I just have to say that is a fantastic sweater! Nicely done, and your girl like so awesome in it!

  31. April 17, 2009 2:12 pm

    I’m too coming over from Sew Mama Sew and I absolutely love the sweater! I can’t wait to make this for my little girl! Great work!

  32. April 30, 2009 10:07 am

    This sweater is so so adorable! I love the rainbow colors and your daughter looks so cute in it. Wonderful jobE

  33. Vanja permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:18 am

    WOW! That sweater is adorable, and so is your little girl. :-)

    Can’t wait to start knitting this one. Hope it comes in size 10 (year).

Trackbacks

  1. Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Featured Creativity ~ Spring Sewing

Leave a Reply

